Self Love and Nourishment

“Tell me what you eat and I will tell you who you are.” Jean Anthelme Brillat – Savarin (1775 – 1826)

It was while substantiating this oft repeated quote by the man considered by many the founder of modern gastronomy, that I came across another he’d offered.
A poignant quote that urged the tired, the defeated and the lovelorn, to take comfort in the restorative powers of chocolate.
His astute words remind us that there are times in life when one must rely on  sensual impulse, maybe even intuition, to soothe and nourish ones self with food.
I love chocolate, and indeed ate chocolate tonight.
Thank you Monsieur Brillat – Savarin, you’re right, I felt better.
However, it is also an definable act of self love when we can apply those same intuitive responses to our daily food choices.
I am the first to admit, I can be a lazy eater.
I live alone, time gets away from me, life gets busy.
All factors that at times seem to shrink my food choices down to variations on just a couple of themes.
Hence, the smoothie.
Nourishing, comforting, fast and pleasing to the senses, they just work for me.
This one pleased me much.
Dates
Banana
Strawberry
Flaxseed
Almond
Raw honey
Coconut oil

I wish you peace, comfort and good nourishment : for your body and for your spirit.
’till next time
sweetrosie x

image

Leave a Reply

