Chia Banana Cinnamon Smoothie with Coconut Oil

 So special, on a Sunday, to put together a very special weekend brunch smoothie.

Adding chia to my smoothie gave me a thicker drink, well, it was halfway between a pudding, and a drink, just delicious. Drinkable still, but lushly thick, and filling. 

Sunday Smoothie

This is what I used:

1 cup of macadamia milk

1 small banana

1/2 cup frozen peach

3 teaspoons of chia seeds

3 tablespoons of coconut yoghurt

2 teaspoons of raw honey

2 teaspoons of virgin coconut oil

1 teaspoon of ground cinnamon – make sure it’s fresh. You don’t want to hold on to ground spices and herbs for too long, they lose their valuable properties, along with their taste and fragrance.

Whizz it all up – I only have a little, low-price ,”bullet”-style blender, works fine for me. I should confess…I have broken the motor on one of these by enthusiastic blending, but I was nonchalant! I went to K-Mart, gave them $15.00, and they gave me another! Yep, the $15.00 whizzer works just fine for all my smoothies.

Chia: high in protein, healthy fats and antioxidants. When added to liquid, these power-house seeds swell, and turn “pudding like.”

A word of advice. When you consume chia, please also increase your water intake, as you would with the consumption of any other high fiber food.

I usually just buy my chia seeds from the supermarket. At first glance, they can seem a little pricey, but honestly? You use 1-2 tablespoons at a time, and the health benefits are so compelling, it’s all worth it.

So much nicer, for your spirit, and for your body, to spend your money on food that offers you real nourishment. That little bowl of homemade chia pudding, or that chia smoothie, made to suit your tastes, and requirements for health and wellbeing, they offer you so much more than factory made breakfast fare.

According to THIS SITE

One 28g (around a tablespoon) of chia seeds offers:

Fiber: 11 grams.

  • Protein: 4 grams.
  • Fat: 9 grams (5 of which are Omega-3s).
  • Calcium: 18 percent of the RDA.
  • Manganese: 30 percent of the RDA.
  • Magnesium: 30 percent of the RDA.
  • Phosphorus: 27 percent of the RDA.
  • They also contain a decent amount of Zinc, Vitamin B3 (Niacin), Potassium, Vitamin B1 (Thiamine) and Vitamin B2.

Banana: Another nutrient dense food, with so many reasons to eat it, beyond the fact that they are wonderfully portable, easy to eat, and delicious. Include bananas in your diet, and your body will thank you.

003

Banana adds a luxurious creaminess, and a certain luxury to your smoothies, AND banana combines beautifully with other fruits, honey and coconut.

Cinnamon: regulates blood sugar levels and addresses insulin resistance. Read more about this fragrant, powerful spice HERE.

Coconut Oil: the internet is awash with testimonies to the benefits of virgin coconut oil, and I am here to add to them!

I use coconut oil in my smoothies, when I’m cooking, on my face, with raw honey as a nourishing, hydrating mask, and as a leave-in hair conditioner.

From personal experience, I also believe it has a positive effect on belly fat, and insulin resistance. Friends, I’ll admit, it WAS hard to get used to, at first. My biggest breakthrough came when I stopped using a lower cost supermarket brand, and found one, I personally liked, in my local health food store.

Loving Earth Cold Pressed Coconut Oil

The one above, in the photo, is the brand I have used, ever since the first time I tried it. It suited my tastes, and has a pure, refined texture, and a delicious, smooth, coconutty flavour.

I love my smoothies. When I was trying the Atkins eating regime on for size, the one thing I really missed was fruit.

I decided then, to formulate my own eating regime, picking, mixing, and choosing diet philosophies that suited my unique needs. Doing this offered a freedom to experiment and discover, for myself, the foods that suit my body, and lifestyle. I urge you to do the same, try everything!

Keep eating the foods that feel “right”, dismiss the foods, and the eating regimes that  prove unsustainable, and/or wrong for your own, unique, and very special self.

’till next time

sweetrosie x

Leave a Reply

