Making Marmalade : Part 2

image

Today was the day to turn my soaked citrus peel into sunshiny marmalade.
The ruby grapefruit, orange, and lemon peel had soaked, along with the flesh and juice overnight, to start the softening process.
I tipped the lot into my preserving pan, covered with a lid, and gently simmered until the peel was soft.
This took about an hour. Don’t scrimp on this step, adding the sugar will retard any further softening.
Some jam makers measure their cooked fruit by the cup,  I prefer to weigh it. Less mess and bother.
I ended up with 1.2kg of fruit, so I added the same amount of white sugar to the fruit, and stirred, over a low heat until the sugar dissolved.
The heat was turned up, and the mixture allowed to boil, stirring often, until it reached 105C on my candy thermometer.
My thermometer hasn’t failed me yet. I have had beautifully set jams, ever since I started relying on it.

Your marmalade will look runny at this stage, but it absolutely will set once cooled.

Take the pan from the heat, and allow the marmalade to cool for 10 minutes.
If you bottle your marmalade when it’s very hot, the peel will not be evenly distributed through your jar.
Have your hot, sterilised jars ready, and carefully spoon, or pour the marmalade in. Fill to the  top, it will contract a little as it cools.
Wipe the jars clean, put the lid on, and label.
I don’t water process my jam and marmalade, but I do store the jar in the fridge once opened.
Best used within six months : if it lasts that long!
The verdict? Very, very nice!
Just the right amount of citrus bitterness, sweet, tangy, and very nostalgic. Bread and butter, with marmalade, it made me feel like I was in a John Betjeman poem…

image

’till next time
sweetrosie  x

4 thoughts on “Making Marmalade : Part 2

  1. I’ve never made marmalade, but this post has me thinking I might try it. The pictures are gorgeous and thanks for your recommended temperature for jam. I would like to take the guesswork out of this part of the process.
    Lillian

    1. Lillian, I have a feeling that you would like marmalade, and I know you would make a nice one too. I also use it for things like, glazing ham and baked pickled pork, bread and butter pudding, orange syrup cake, so many delicious ways to use it. Enjoy your Sunday, kindest, Angela

  2. hello angela, what a lovely photo of your jam, it is the jam we both like meaning my husband and i, i will try this as soon as i am able to get m y husband back in to good health as he would like to help me, all your recipies are so great angela, i print them so i always have them thanks to the computer printer hope all is well than k you again a devout follower of yours joan e charles

    1. Thank you so much Joan, your kind words mean a lot. I am sorry to hear that your husband is still struggling with his health, you must both be looking forward to better days. Sending you a hug from Oz x

Leave a Reply

