White Sourdough Tin Loaf

My sourdough starter improves all the time.
  It’s so cold here in Adelaide at the moment,  so its progress is slow and gentle.
When I want to bake a loaf with it,  I  feed it up the day before.
I’m not precise with quantities or anything.  I guess I  usually stir in around a cup of white flour and a cup of water.
It starts to form bubbles after a feeding fairly quickly now,  I take this as an auspicious sign of strength and sourdough happiness!

image

The smell is distinctive,  sour with beer/vinegar nuances .I have read that a vinegary fragrance is undesirable,  I don’t think it is. It still smells pure and “right” to me.
Very pleasant process, watching your starter grow and mature.
Things change,
and it does get more complex as time goes by.
I baked this weekend. A white tin loaf. Super tasty crust with that sourdough crackle and wonderful flavour.
Light crumb, and it toasts beautifully.

image

If you’re just starting out with sourdough and you want to experience the flavours,  without the uncertainty of relying on wild yeasts, just add a cup or two of your starter to your favorite bread mix.
Adjust the water quantity in the mix instructions,  and use regular dried yeast,  as normal.
You will be delighted with the results,  and it helps build one’s confidence in the whole sourdough baking journey.
I especially recommend this method for new sourdough bakers who want to make a wholemeal loaf.
The heavier wholemeal flour can  sometimes be harder to prove with just a starter as leavening.
Many might disagree with me,  but it never hurts to have a go to plan when you want to make sure your loaf is as perfect as can be.
I used about a quarter teaspoon of dried active yeast, along with the starter in this wholemeal oat and honey loaf.
Maybe I didn’t need it,  but it did turn out to be a lovely loaf.

image

image

Till next time
sweetrosie x

7 thoughts on “White Sourdough Tin Loaf

    1. Please! Make some starter! Even if you don’t use it for a while, it’s there for when the urge to bake comes on. You’re right about toast…I think I could happily feast on toast, maybe with a little egg or something, for dinner most evening. I just love it 🙂

  1. Always love your recipes and comments, sweetrosie. Your latest on sourdough
    are wonderful. There is nothing like the aroma of homemade sourdough bread
    drifting through the house.

  2. as usual sweetrosie, you are a wonder, i take my hat off to you love your recipes always love to you from virginia usa

Leave a Reply

