Lovely Scones for Sharing

In Australia and the UK, scones have long been a mandatory addition to morning or afternoon teas for company.

A plate of warm, freshly baked scones,  served with homemade jam,  and thick,  luscious cream,  is,  to my mind,  as wonderful an offering as any fancy torte or refined macaron.

image

I have previously blogged about scones,  I do love them, they fill me with comfy nostalgia. I bake them and imagine simpler times.  Outings to the seaside with a cream tea to finish a perfect day.  Teashops with bunting and floral china.  Farm shops, steam trains, Enid Blyton and Liberty prints…
I know,  I’m in the wrong century and surely would have been much happier back in 1940’s Britain !

image

I made afternoon tea yesterday, mummy came over and we had giggles and arguments – just the way we like it!
I made this boiled fruit tea loaf,  a special cheesecake and a batch of scones.
I had to blog and share as what was once my very favourite scone recipe is now discarded for a new favorite recipe!

image

It’s as easy as my old favourite but the results are so much nicer.
Quantities are vague, and depend on how many scones you’re planning to make.
For a dozen medium scones,  I started with about 4 cups of self raising flour.
Sift your flour into a large bowl, along with some icing sugar, (1/2 cup per 4 cups of flour) and a  little salt (1/2 teaspoon per 4 cups of flour)
This is so easy,  you’ll love it!

image

Add equal amounts of cream and fizzy lemonade until your mixture comes together and you have a slightly tacky dough.

image
We also had this delish rum and raisin cheesecake with poached pear

Tip it all out onto a floured bench,  or a piece of baking paper,  if you want to save yourself some mess.
Gently and briefly knead,  just until it all comes together.
Don’t overhandle the dough,  it toughens it.
Pat out into a squarish shape,  approximately 4cm thick.
Cut with a scone cutter dipped in flour.
Gently knead the scraps until all the dough is used.
Place onto a baking tray lined with baking paper, and pop into a 200C oven,  they’ll take around 20-30 minutes.
Placing the scones just touching on the tray,  will ensure they support each other as they bake,  and keeps the scones sides soft and delicate.
You’ll know when they’re done. They’ll be golden and light,  with lovely,  firm brown bases.
Remove from the oven and cover with a clean teatowel to trap in the warmth and steam.
Dust with icing sugar before serving.
I do hope you enjoy my new, improved scone recipe.

Till next time
sweetrosie x

3 thoughts on “Lovely Scones for Sharing

  1. I also have a favorite scone recipe, but I’m going to try this one. They look so delicious. Also love the bowl and plate in the top picture.
    Lillian

  2. I had to let you know I made these scones for dinner for my daughter even though I didn’t have everything on hand. I substituted evaporated milk for cream and added some butter to make up for the lack of butterfat. I didn’t have the Schweppes Lemonade but substituted 7-Up, a US carbonated lemon drink. My daughter and I both thought these scones were better than our old favorites. When I go to the store, I intend to get some cream and some Schweppes if I can find it. I just made a one-cup-of-flour batch for the two of us and it was a wonderful addition to our pasta salad supper.
    Lillian

    1. Lillian, I am so very pleased that you took the time to try my recipe, and even more pleased that you and your daughter enjoyed the scones!
      You know, I think 7-Up is a perfectly fine lemonade to use. I am pretty confident it is the bubbles that work their magic, so any fizzy pop is going to do the trick.
      So pleased!! Thank you.

Leave a Reply

