Hot Weather Food

I’ve found myself off work today…a bout of painful sciatica has me at home, and restless.
Summer has come early to Adelaide, ( 38C today, 40C tomorrow) so I’m spending this down time devising delicious, fuss free menus for the hot days ahead.
My kitchen isn’t air conditioned, so food has to be fast, nourishing and light enough to tempt heat jaded appetites.

image

Platters like this are perfect.
Cheese, crackers, dip and crudite. Fresh, light and healthy.
This dip is simply a jar of basil pesto combined with cream cheese and sour cream.

image

The roast chicken in this photos can be cooked early in the day, when temperatures are cooler, or, prepared on the barbie.
I served this with a green salad and dinner rolls.
Leftovers are perfect for sandwiches.

image

Fruit is always welcome when it’s hot. Especially if someone else cuts it up!
Fruit offers valuable fluids and nutrients, and the sugars give you a welcome energy boost too.
This platter does also offer a pot of chocolate dipping sauce,naughty, but nice.
To make the sauce, bring 250ml of cream to the boil, in a pan, or in the microwave, and stir in 250g of dark chocolate.
Just keep stirring. The heat of the cream is enough to melt the chocolate.

image

A big bowl of fruit salad is a great alternative to a fruit platter.
People can help themselves when hunger strikes.
Have some yoghurt on hand and I make sure there’s a container of my coconut sugar muesli on hand too.

image

It’s just me, but, I believe the best hot weather food is a little bit of protein and a lot of fresh fruits and veggies.
And, lots and lots of water!
If it’s hot where you are, please take care, and please check on friends, family and neighbours, just to make sure all is well.

Till next time,
sweetrosie x

4 thoughts on “Hot Weather Food

  1. I know what you mean about the heat – I’ve already been out on an early morning walk and it’s already bloody hot and the flies are out ‘en masse.’ I especially like the fruit plate with the chocolate dipping sauce – (I would be tempted)!

Leave a Reply

