Orange Spiced Pickled Pork

image

It might be poor mans ham but I love baked pickled pork.

Pickled pork is fabulous glazed and baked and works particularly well with fruit and spice based glazes, like the one I’ve used here.

Pickled, or corned pork, has been through the same process as corned beef/silverside. Salted/pickled/corned meat has a historical place in many cultures. Preserving meat when it was available, offered a way to ensure supply in the days before freezers and canning.

If you eat pork and you like baked ham, try this recipe, it’s easy, budget friendly and absolutely delicious got or cold.

This recipe has 2 stages. The first stage is boiling your pork until it is cooked.

image

image

image

This piece of pork weighed around  1.5kg
I rinsed it under running water and put it into a large pot with:
1 onion, skin on and cut in half
1 strip of orange rind
4 whole cloves
1 whole star anise
1 small piece of cinnamon stick
2 tablespoons of brown sugar
2 tablespoons vinegar. I used balsamic for its rich, sweet and distinctive flavour.
Around 6 whole peppercorns

Cover your pork with cold water and add your aromatics.
Bring to the boil, put the lid on the pot and reduce the heat to a simmer.
Cook for around 2 hours for a tender and juicy piece of pork.

While your meat is cooking, prepare your glaze.
This is what you’ll need:
The juice and zest of one orange

2 tablespoons of orange marmalade

2 tablespoons of maple syrup, honey or palm sugar syrup

1 teaspoon each:
mixed spice
cinnamon
grated nutmeg

Mix it all together and set aside.

I bake my pork in a disposable foil pan. Or makes clean up so much easier. Just put your foil pan on a baking tray for easier handling and stability.

Pour your glaze mix over and give your meat a good roll around to cover or completely.
Don’t worry about all the glaze in the pan. You’ll be using this to baste the meat as it bakes.

Bake in a moderate oven, basting a few times with the juices in the tray.
My piece of pork took about 40 minutes. You want to see a nice shiny, sticky finish on the pork and just a few, little charred bits, these are extra tasty!

I served this delicious tray with a green chilli and onion soda bread and a garden salad.
I also offered the pan juices in a jug for those who fancied.

4 thoughts on “Orange Spiced Pickled Pork

  1. This looks interesting and I’ve never heard of it. Am I being dense? I don’t see where to click to find the ingredients.
    Lillian

    1. No Lillian, you’re not dense, I am… I have been posting on my phone and it can
      be a tricky business. Hopefully, you can see the full, edited version now. It kind of published itself before I finished, so I had to go back and do it over.
      I wonder if you will find pickled pork? Maybe “real” ham isn’t as expensive to buy over there as it is in Australia?

      1. I see the full recipe now. The only pickled pork we have around here is pickled pig’s feet (ugh!), a special favorite of the German population. Your pickled pork sounds like something I would like and I can get all of the ingredients.
        Lillian

      2. Pickled pigs feet… Well, you have to admire using the whole animal but not for me I’m afraid. I imagine them having a lot of bones and skin.
        I hope you get a chance to try the recipe, it really is lovely.

Leave a Reply

