Japanese Shortcake

It is an unusual name for a spongecake, but, shortcake is what this light and fluffy filled sponge is known as in Japan and Asia.

image

I believe it is a popular choice for birthdays and Christmas, and quite a common item in Asian bakeries and stores.

Japanese shortcake is a light, moist sponge filled with strawberries and cream, and then entirely frosted with more whipped cream. What’s not to love?

I’ve been working on this recipe for a while now, making it every weekend, tweaking and refining as I go.
I wanted to keep the cake itself as white as possible, so I use oil and not melted butter as some recipes call for.
For this very same reason, I have chosen not to add vanilla extract and have relief on my own stock of very highly fragranced and flavoured vanilla sugar.
Please, do use vanilla if you like. I’m sure it won’t affect the colour that much at all.

I hope you give it a try, let me know what you think.

Preheat your oven to 160C
Grease, and line with baking paper, a 9″/22cm cake tin.

image

I have found that my thin, aluminium cake tin produces the best results.
Here is the list of ingredients you’ll need.

4 eggs (or 300g, weighed in the shell)
140g caster sugar
170g self raising low protein cake flour. Using a low protein flour, especially designed for cakes, really does make a difference to the sponge.
Using regular flour will work but, the sponge will not be as light and fluffy.
Low protein cake flour is widely available in supermarkets. I get mine from Woolworths, in the flour section.
1/4 cup vegetable oil
1/4 cup milk
1/2 teaspoon cream of tartar

To full and frost the cake
600ml thickened cream. Resist the urge to use double cream. It makes the cake too rich and detracts from the light, airy, summery character that makes it so appealing and delicious.

500g strawberries. Wash and reserve 8 for decoration. Slice the rest.

2 tablespoons icing sugar

You can stabilise this cream, and I recommend you do. I did a post not long ago on stabilised whipped cream, have a look, give it a go.

2 thoughts on “Japanese Shortcake

    1. I hope you do try it Lillian, I had a thought for you regards the cake flour. I wondered, maybe you could substitute, maybe a third of the flour with cornflour or gluten free flour? It’s the low gluten content you’re after. Might work!

Leave a Reply

