Victoria Sponge with Jam & Cream

I think an old-fashioned Victoria sponge makes the perfect birthday cake. My husband celebrated his birthday last week and I decided to make him the sponge AND his favourite, a lemon baked cheesecake. I’ll talk about the cheesecake in another post. This one is all about the wonder that is Victoria sponge.

gingerbread 004

Who doesn’t love home-made vanilla sponge filled with sweet, luscious jam and lashings of whipped cream?.

Victoria sponge is an old English cake recipe. History has it that Queen Victoria herself fancied a slice of this cake with her afternoon tea. It certainly makes a splendid teatime display; it’s a cake that represents celebration and comfort, both at the same.
The recipe couldn’t be easier and even better – it’s a recipe that once learned, is never forgotten. You see, you measure the eggs in their shells and then just weigh out the exact same amount of butter, sugar and self-raising flour. Have a look at the recipe, you’ll see what I mean.

Now, here’s something interesting before you start…
I used 1 new, modern springform tin and 1 slightly battered, old-school aluminium tin. Have a look at the photo, see the top layer of sponge? It’s taller and fluffier than the base layer. That was the layer cooked in the old, aluminium tin. The exact same amount of batter went into both tins, they went on the same shelf and cooked for the same amount of time yet the thinner tin most definitely gave the better result.

Victoria Sponge

To make 1 x 2 layer 10″ cake.

Preheat the oven to 180C

Grease and line 2 same size, round cake tins with baking paper.
Weigh 4 eggs in their shells. Mine came to 254g so I wrote that down.
Now, I weighed out:
254g of butter
254g of self-raising flour
254g of caster sugar.

In the stand mixer, cream the butter and the sugar until very whipped, light and creamy.
I added 2 teaspoons of pure vanilla extract at this stage.
Add your eggs, one at a time and beat in well. Stop the mixer and scrape down the bowl from time to time.
It might look a bit split and curdled, don’t worry about it.
Sift your flour into the mixture and mix it in. Don’t be too vigorous but no need to be scared of it either.
Here’s the only part you can’t predict. You need to add enough milk to make a batter that drops from your spoon. I needed about a scant cup of milk.
Just add it until the batter seems right to you and drops off the spoon when you lift it up. You don’t want it to run off the spoon and you don’t want it to stick onto the spoon before falling off for too long.
Divide the mixture evenly between the 2 tins.
Bake the cakes for around 25 minutes. They are done when they are light golden brown and when you lightly press the centre with your finger the cake springs back and doesn’t sink in to make a dent.
Turn out onto a wire cake to cool.
Whip up about 300ml of cream. I used thick cream, about 48% butterfat so it whipped up really quickly and was thick and rich. I added about a tablespoon of icing sugar while it was whipping.
Put one cake layer onto your serving plate/cake stand and spread over your chosen jam. I decided on strawberry jam and used about just under a cup.
Drop your whipped cream into the centre of the cake, on top of the jam, and using a flat bladed knife, gently push and spread it out towards the edges. Make sure you’ve got an even layer.
Drop the second cake layer on top and gently press into the cream/jam, making it level and centre as you go.
Sift a nice thick layer of icing sugar over top, sit back and wait for the smiles!

6 thoughts on “Victoria Sponge with Jam & Cream

  1. As you probably know, we don’t weigh ingredients in the U.S., but I have a scale I brought back from Germany over 20 years ago and I think I’m going to get it out and try this. It looks so good. I might have some trouble with the milk and how the batter drops from the spoon, but I’m going to give it a try.
    Lillian

    1. You know Lillian, that is new to me, thank you for letting me know! Great info to have. Sometimes, chain stores, maybe like your Walmart, have very, very cheap digital scales. I actually originally bought mine for weighing items for posting when I sold on Ebay 😉 I really hope you try the cake, it is so easy, so scrumptious and so English 🙂 Let me know if I can help make it happen. Have a wonderful weekend.

  2. thank you sweetrosie, I have been wanting this recipe for a long time and you are my hero. love this, h ope you are having great weather in south Australia, I miss Australia so very much. thanks again dear girl love to you and your family joan e charles

    1. Dear Joan, thank you so much for your kind words. It can be painful to miss a place or a person, I feel for you. Never quite feeling right…I hope you find comfort in your family, friends and in new memories made. Joan, make a lovely cake, let me know if I can help, see, the world is a smaller place with good food and friends 🙂 Take care and have a lovely weekend.

      1. dear sweetrosie, you are a sweet girl with all these great wonderful foods, now I have your split pea and ham soup, how good it sounds and it is my favourite soup. also over here most people do not weigh their ingredients, they use a measuring cup, I only mentioned this as a woman from the states, made the remark that she weighs her ingredients like most of the state side people do. pardon me if I sound rude, don’t mean to, but I can honestly say the Australians make the best tasting foods, and even though I live over here, I prefer your style of coking, it is far superior, thank heavens for little girls like sweetrosie. you make my day best wishes to you love joan e charles

Leave a Reply

