Dairy-Free Egg-Free Gluten Free Pumpkin Maple Cupcakes

wedding cake jaime 005
My pumpkin and maple cupcakes have been so popular, I thought it only fair to develop an allergen-free version.
This recipe uses the same principles as my allergen-free vanilla cupcakes and is so easy to make.
They are delicious – especially if you top them with a big swirl of vegan cream cheese frosting.
The recipe itself is also nut freebut nuts weren’t going to be an issue on this occasion so I finished the cakes off with a half-dipped chocolate pecan. Of course, this is purely optional.

The Ingredients:

3/4’s of a cup, cooked, cooled and mashed pumpkin. I used Jap but any firm, bright orange pumpkin can be used. Do not add anything when you mash it.
1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar
1/4 cup, non-dairy milk of your choice. I used organic rice milk
1 and 3/4 cups of gluten-free self-raising flour. I used Orgrans brand
1/2 a teaspoon of bicarb soda
1/2’s of a cup light brown sugar
1/4 of a cup pure maple syrup
1 teaspoon mixed spice or make your own mix of cinnamon, freshly grated nutmeg and a pinch of ground cloves.
1/4 teaspoon sea salt
1/2 a cup of good quality, preferably cold-pressed, neutral tasting oil.

Preparation:

Preheat your oven to 180C and put paper cupcake cases into your muffin tin.
Combine the rice milk and vingear and set aside for 5 minutes.
Combine the flour, bicard soda, sugar, spices and salt in a large bowl.
In another bowl, combine the pumpkin puree, the oil, the maple syrup and the milk-vinegar mixture.
Tip the combined wet ingredients into the bowl of dry ingredients and mix until just combined. Do not beat or over-stir the mixture.
Fill your cupcake cases with the mixture – about Ā¾ full should do the trick.
Bake for 18 to 20 minutes. Your cakes are done when the top springs back without leaving a dent when you press gently with your finger.
Gently remove from the tin and leave on a wire rack to cool.

For the cream cheese frosting, use my dairy-free frosting recipe, I added about 50g of vegan cream cheese and omitted the rice milk.

4 thoughts on “Dairy-Free Egg-Free Gluten Free Pumpkin Maple Cupcakes

  1. I haven’t looked in on you in a while, didn’t know you were still doing the gluten free vegan thing. I am SO excited! Can’t wait to try these cupcakes!!! šŸ™‚

    1. Oh! So lovely to see your name again! I have missed all my blog friends. My fault I did let sweetrosie languish for a while… Hope all is well with the family and life is happy and good for you šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

