Tonkatsu Rice Bowl with “Special Sauce”

rice bowl 002rice bowl 004

Okey dokey, looks like a bit of a mess but that’s just my photo taking. It was actually delicious and I want to share.

I’ve posted about the yummy Japanese pork cutlet dish called Tonkatsu before. It remains a firm favourite around here.

This version had a seaweed strip garnish added to the mix along with a soft-fried homegrown egg. I didn’t have the more traditional cabbage for the side salad so used shredded lettuce and some pickled veggies. For the seaweed sprinkle, I just got a sheet of the nori I use for sushi, rolled it up a bit and snipped it with scissors.

I’m not going to pretend I crumbed the pork leg myself – it was a nice handy pack of Otway Free Range pork snitzel I had in the freezer.

Here’s the recipe, although I feel a bit of cheat saying that. Rather, this is a list of what went into the bowls:
steamed, long grain rice
finely shredded iceberg lettuce
a few slivers of pickled cauliflower and carrot
one, over-easy free range egg
crumbed pork cutlet cut into fingers
finely shredded nori seaweed

This meal would not be as yum as it is without my “special sauce”. I continue to develop my perfect tonkatsu sauce. Other versions I’ve made have been nice but I’ve refined my technique, tweaked and fiddled a bit and now offer you what I consider a perfect sauce for your porky rice bowl.

Put one teaspoon of prepared English mustard into a bowl.
Add about 3 teaspoons of smokey barbecue sauce and whisk well. The small amount of bbq sauce to start will makes sure the mustard completely breaks down without leaving speckly, lumpy bits.
Now add another 4 tablespoons of bbq sauce and mix well.
Last step – mix in 4 tablespoons of soy sauce. I used Kikkoman.

You can always tweak this sauce, like I did, so that you end up with your perfect sauce. Everyone’s different, you might like more soy, less mustard, it’s up to you.

I do hope you enjoy this simple, Japanese-inspired meal. I’m going to be trying some new variations on this theme soon. I’ll be sure to share with you.

Leave a Reply

