I like this blog and I like this recipe. Paneer acts kind-of like tofu in recipes – sucks up the gravy/sauce and adds a yummdiddly “meatiness” to vego dishes. If you make your own yoghurt you can make your own paneer. On second thought – paneer is EASIER than yoghurt, give it a go. I really like the fact that making my own yoghurt and paneer gives me total control over what goes in it – I can choose the milk, I can choose the culture (in the case of yoghurt) and etc. You might agree, when it’s simple to make, very delicious and you have 100% control, there’s a good and satisfying feeling. You’ll like the $$$ you save too.

vinicooksveg

We get paneer- indian cottage cheese everywhere but trust me when I say, home made paneer is the best one! I  prepare paneer frequently from last 4 to 5 years.(finally I have clicked some pictures for paneer) I have followed the same method or recipe. I either use yogurt or lemon juice, depending on their availability. Step by step pictures are required here and here goes the recipe,

Ingredients

1.2 litres whole milk (full cream milk)

4 tbsp lemon juice or 3-4 tbsp yogurt.

Other things

A thin , white cotton or muslin cloth

A metal strainer

A heavy weight

Procedure

  • Bring the milk to boil. While boiling milk, add lemon juice or yogurt slowly with one hand while stirring the milk with other hand.

111220121550

  • Soon the milk will be curdled, the water will be separated and you will see milk solids. Now put off the heat.
  • In a metal…

View original post 161 more words

4 thoughts on “

  1. I’ve been trying to find an e-mail address for you and happened on this post. I wanted to let you know how nice it is to see your name in blogland again. Hope everything is going well.
    Lillian
    lillianscupboard.wordpress.com

    1. Hello Lillian and happy new year! It’s been a while I know…I have made the decision to come back to blogging after a bit of a crisis of confidence – silly, I know but I kept looking at all these other food blogs with their beautiful, stylised photography and faultless layout and I’m afraid I juat gave up. How ridiculous is that? Anyway, sweetrosie is back, determined to be herself, bad photographs and all 🙂 Thank you for your lovely message, I have continued to follow your blog with interest and fond thoughts.

      1. Personally, I prefer the blogs that are more personal and don’t look like a magazine article. I like a visit to a blog to be like walking in the back door of my neighbor’s house and finding her in the middle of making some delicious dish or sewing a beautiful quilt and letting me watch for awhile.

        I always liked your photos and in addition, you have a flair for writing which a lot of bloggers lack. Hope to be seeing some posts from you soon.
        Lillian

      2. That is such a lovely reply and beautifully put. I love the way you’ve put such a perfect perspective on blogging and I agree 100% – so, I’m with you Lillian and here’s to a blog-filled 2013!
        Angela

Leave a Reply

