Australian Native Cuisine

As my regular readers know, I work for an Aboriginal and TI adult college. We have access to the most amazing native foodstuffs, a lot of it grown on the grounds. For example, the  native violets in the last post came from out the front and at the moment we’re all picking quandongs before the parrots get them! We have about 6 of the quandong or native peach trees and this year it’s a bumper crop.

I made a syrup for my mocktails but with the rest of my stash, well, I’m just washing and freezing whole – I’ll think about quandongs later…

Anyway, when we host guests at the college, we always try to showcase this 100% regional cuisine – it’s always a winner, people come away with information about foods grown and eaten for aeons and available on their doorsteps.

This week’s luncheon felt like a fish kind-of day to me 🙂 Here’s the menu I planned and cooked for our guests. Oh, BTW, nothing has changed regards my photo taking…I try, honest I do  🙂

On Arrival

Desert Sunrise Mocktail – house-made quandong syrup, rosella native hibiscus) syrup, cranberry juice and soda, garnished with a whole, rosella flower, which you can buy HERE. Fabulous in champagne cocktails 😉

Main Course

Atlantic salmon poached in a lemon myrtle and pepperberry broth, served over rocket and watercress with a basil and lemon myrtle beurre blanc and accompanied by a bush tomato (kutjera) and sea salt seasoned roasted vegetable tartlet and a wattleseed balsamic reduction.

Dessert was the lemon creme with the violets in the previous post.

It was a lovely lunch, the fish was delicious, the flavours all worked together beautifully and our guests went home happy. What more could I ask for?

 

2 thoughts on “Australian Native Cuisine

  1. I think Aussie native cuisine is an area that we may need to focus on in future. We got so many wildness and this type of cuisine, no matter if it is meat, vege etc, is so special in the world and should standout quite easily. Good idea for a main. I love the rosella flower. It goes very well with ciders and champagnes.

    1. You’re very right. So many native Australian ingredients remain unknown to mainstream cooks and eaters. Lots of people may be familiar with native foods like lemon myrtle, bush tomato and kangaroo. However, I do believe that a lot of our native Australian foods hold an almost novelty value status and remain largely under utilised.
      Things are slowly changing, home gardeners are growing native plants for their food crops. Commercial plantings are increasing in size and market reach, branding and promotion is senstively handled by a growing number of dedicated chefs, cooks and producers. Things are lookig up and it’s only going to get better!
      Thanks for your comment, I appreciate the opportunity to think about the issues you raise.
      I’m guessing that you already know that a lot of the city and inner suburb IGA and Foodland supermarkets stock the smaller jars of Rosella flowers in syrup 🙂

Leave a Reply

