Super Easy Quiche

I don’t really know if this should be called a quiche…the filling is not custardly, in fact, it is so firm you can slice it into pieces if you like. Super easy to make it’s perfect for a light meal, picnics and to serve as a nibble when guests come over.

Because the recipe is flexible please feel free to add or delete to the filling ingredients. I was unwell this week and for some reason couldn’t face meat – so my quiche is vegetarian. The chickens are laying well, the tomatoes and basil are plentiful and there was a few mushrooms in the ‘fridge – this is how mine came about ๐Ÿ™‚

  • Line a quiche plate or tart flan with shortcrust pastry. I used the Pampas shortcrust sheets from the freezer.

empty-quiche-shell

  • Bake in a hot – around 200C oven until it’s light golden brown. Press out any air bubbles with a clean cloth.
  • Saute some finely chopped onion and mushroom in a pan with some butter or olive oil. I guess I used about 4 big mushrooms and a small onion. How much butter or oil you use depends on you, I used about 1 tbsp of butter.

quiche-eggs-in-a-bowl

  • Whisk up 4 whole eggs and 2 egg yolks in a bowl and season with freshly ground salt and pepper. A little grate of nutmeg is nice too. I added 1/2 cup of cream to this mix and whisked it all again.
  • I mixed in about 1/2 cup of shredded basil with the mushrooms and onions and spread this over the cooked pastry base.

quiche-mushroom-basil1

  • Then I grated over what I guess was about 1 cup of mature cheese.

quiche-with-cheese1

  • I carefully and evenly tipped the egg mix over this.
  • Thinly sliced tomatoes were spread all over the top and the quiche was popped back into a moderate – about 160C ove for about 40 minutes. I like a longer cooking time when there’s sliced tomato involved – they kind-of roast and the flavour intensifies.

quiche-ready-for-oven

It really was very, very nice. We had it with salad. I am so sorry that I forgot to take a photo of the finished tart – we just gobbled it all up before I remembered the camera ๐Ÿ™‚

4 thoughts on “Super Easy Quiche

  1. This sounds perfect for a lunch for my daughters when they visit on Friday. Your recipes always sound (and look) so good.
    Lillian

    1. Thank you for your kind words Lillian and Happy New Year to you and yours.
      What would you call this in the US? A tart or a quiche or something else completely?
      I really hope you and the family enjoy it.

  2. OOoo.. Yummy quiche, it’ll be great picnic food on a gorgeous day!

    I love ur pan, don’t think I can find one that looks like that here..

    1. Thank you Farhan x The pan is gorgeous isn’t it? I have the square one and the long, loose base – your lovely fruit tart would be perfect in one of these. Let me know if you want me to get you one and send it over. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

