Easy Fish Curry with Roti Telur

This is a fish curry recipe I use when time is short. It makes a delcious meal with minimum effort and just a few ingredients from the pantry.

fish-curry-and-roti

We usually have it with roti telur, all the better to sop up the gravy, but it is also lovely with rice.

Here is my recipe:

  • 250g-500g of firm, white flesh fish. I usually buy something like snapper or bream. Because I don’t use a lot of fish in this recipe I splurge with these more expensive fishes πŸ™‚ How much you use depends on how much fish you want in your curry.
  • 1 can of Yeos Singapore Hot Curry Gravy.Β This is great to have in the pantry for days when time is short.
  • some vegetables of your choice. I used tomatoes cut into wedges and small ladie’s fingers or okra.
  • 1 finely chopped onion
  • 2 finely chopped cloves of garlic
  • about 10 curry leaves if you’ve got any. When I get them from the Asian grocer I just keep them in the freezer – perfect!
  • 1/2 teaspoon of black mustard seed – again, optional
  • 1/2 teaspoon whole fennel seeds – you guessed it, optional πŸ™‚
  • 1 tablespoon oil

Heat the oil in your pan and add the onion, garlic, curry leaves and seeds. Fry, stirring often until the onion softens and the aroma develops. You don’t really want the onion to brown but you do want it to be soft.

Tip in the can of curry sauce and add the vegetables.

Simmer on a medium heat until the vegetables are done to your liking. I prefer that the tomato keeps it’s shape and the okra doesn’t get too soft.

Ten minutes before you think the veggies are going to be ready toss in your fish. I like to keep mine in rather large chunks, that way, when I serve up I can just add a piece to each bowl.

Don’t have the heat too high, you don’t want the fish to break apart.

Taste the gravy and add salt if required. You might also like to sharpen the sauce with a squeeze of lime juice, or, if the tomatoes have added a bit too much acidity, add a 1/2 teaspoon of sugar to mellow things out.

fish-curry-bowl

I hope you find this recipe useful. I know it’s been a lifesaver for me after a long day at work πŸ™‚

4 thoughts on “Easy Fish Curry with Roti Telur

  1. Snap!! Great minds think alike :0

    Today I am making easy versions banana caramel tart and quiche. I am still sick *sniffle* but hate wasting my time off work πŸ™‚

  2. i made a delicious turkey and butternutsquash soup for my chills and sniffles, I added just a snip of chilli which really works well on those sinus’s, i followed it with a sticky toffee pudding, which I whipped up whilst the soup simmered delicious

    love your christmas pressy’s
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Leave a Reply

