“Greek” Chicken Baked with Potato, Lemon & Feta

I have absolutely no idea if they eat this in Greece or not but it does combine a lot of Mediterranean flavours – lemons, oregano, feta and olive oil.

I like it because everything goes into the oven at the same time and all in the one pan! Great for after work πŸ™‚ Now, I used the seasoned chicken pieces because they were on special, normally I would just get the plain pieces. Doesn’t matter, they were only sprinkled with salt and paprika by the looks of it.

I served this up with salad dressed with leftover raita thinned down with oil and vinegar – the salad looks odd in my photo – blinding white – but hey, what’s new? My photos aren’t going to win any prizes any time soon πŸ˜‰ The salad was lettuce, tomato, olives, red onion and a bit of feta.

I also served this rice.

It’s stir-fried broccoli, garlic shoots, onion and garlic, added to basmati rice and cooked in chicken stock – very, very nice, I must say.

The chicken dish is easy and doesn’t require exact measurements or anything. I put unpeeled potatoes, tomatoes, fresh oregano and whole, unpeeled garlic cloves in a greased baking pan. I sprinkled it with olive oil and added salt & pepper.

The chicken pieces wereΒ spread out on the top and the juice of a couple of lemons squeezed over.

Β It went into a hot (450F) oven for about 1 hour. I tossed everything about from time to time and tipped out some of the liquid half way through ( I saved the liquid and added it to the stock for the rice) See if you can bring the potato to the top for a while so it has the chance to crisp up a little bit.

Ten minutes before it was ready I sprinkled about 200g of feta cheese over the top. I know some people add olives to this dish but I decided to have them in the salad.

I’m sorry, but I forgot to take a photo before we ate it…

I’ve made this with lamb chops as well and it’s just as nice, although you need to cut the potatoes smaller as the chops don’t seem to take as long to cook as the chicken pieces.

6 thoughts on ““Greek” Chicken Baked with Potato, Lemon & Feta

  1. Yum, everything looks incredible! The chicken looks like it has seasoning on it, what is it? I really want to try this recipe…it’s allergen free without the cheese and the sauce πŸ™‚

  2. Thank you quilt32, I hope it turned out well for you, I know you enjoy the roast vegetables and this is kind-of the same thing πŸ™‚
    Hi allergymom! The seasoning was on the chicken when I bought it. I wouldn’t normally get this one but it was on special. I think it was mainly paprika and salt, possibly some sugar. You could use what you liked. I would have used probably just salt, pepper and maybe a bit of paprika or Italian herbs. Nice to hear from you πŸ™‚

  3. Ah, now you’ve got me craving for some chicken and potatoes! I wish there was a picture of the final [uneaten] dish, but I’m guessing if anyone were to whip up something that delish before me, I’d probably ‘attack’ it before anyone can say snap! πŸ˜›

  4. is you name angela? Because that’s what Laureen called you (from eatandbehappy)??

    This is such a great one dish meal..

    By the way, our chicks hatch from eggs that the hens lay on. I’m not sure why they’re so sensitive, we keep them indoors till they grow a bit bigger but a lot of times they die. Perhaps you’re right, its something to do with the weather here. And our chickens are all poofy fancy miniature ones that are like decorative pets that make a lot of poop.

  5. Yes, I am Angela πŸ™‚ but I wish my real name was sweetrosie…

    You’d think the chickies mamas would look after them until they were strong enough to fend for themselves. What a pity so many die. I love the little fancy bantams – I want another frizzle and a cochin with the feathery feet πŸ™‚

    Have a lovely weekend.

Leave a Reply

