Come Over For A Coffee & A Chat?

Hello dear friends! It’s been so long since I had this wonderful weekend time to just let you know what we’ve been up to. I wish I could gather you all up and invite you over for coffee πŸ™‚

Β 

Uni starts again at the end of July – Food and Drink In Contemporary Western Society. I haven’t a clue how my long Nyonya essay went but I had a great time researching and writing it. I really do want to study the culture some more one day. I did quite well last semester – 2 high distinctions, a distinction and 2 credits for the 6 papers we had to do. Not so bad considering I haven’t been to uni for about 15 years and I’m still working full-time.

Anyway, now your here would you like to come for a walk in the garden? It’s cold and damp at the moment so everything looks kind-of greener than it did a few months ago. This is my lime tree. These are the little limes. I think they call them Key limes in the US and maybe Calamansi limes in Asia. Lovely tart, “limey” flavour, lots of seeds. I usually cut the cheeks off if I’m serving them to squeeze on food. I keep meaning to make lime pickle…

Here are the new chickens. These girls should start laying in a month or so. They are very docile and settled in very well. Of course the older girls chase them around and harass them. Our chickens are free range and organically fed for the most part although we do sometimes buy pellets. It would be very hard to raise free range vegetarian hens like I see advertised in the shops. Chickens are the most voracious carnivores and will always be on the look-out for insects, meat scraps and, wait for it – live mice! It’s true. If they can they will chase and corner a mouse that gets into the yard and then it’s, well, it’s all-over-red-rover for the mouse. Our hens have quite a bit of room and when we buy hay for their yard we leave it in the bale so they can scratch and pull it apart themselves looking for bugs and stray grain.. It’s good for them and keeps them busy.

Well, I need a lie-down now so you justΒ let yourself out and I’ll see you soon πŸ™‚

10 thoughts on “Come Over For A Coffee & A Chat?

  1. “I did quite well last semester – 2 high distinctions, a distinction and 2 credits for the 6 papers we had to do”
    I think you are underselling yourself SR – that is a fantastic achievement. You should be so proud!
    Well done.
    I love the photos of the chickens – i never knew that they liked mice.
    Once again i love reading your posts and look out for them all the time

    πŸ™‚
    K

  2. Thank you K – so lovely xx πŸ™‚

    I must be some kind of half-wit despite your kind words – those grades add up to 5 papers, not 6 – there was 3 credits, not 2…

    Sorry about the tuna tin in with the chicken photo *blush* tres embarrassing! I am going to say that the doggy must have carried it in there πŸ˜‰

    Thanks again, it’s good to be blogging again.

  3. Thanks for charming blog about your home and garden. I love limes – making lime juice (pretty tough because it’s not a juicy fruit) and also using it in cooking – both the juice and the leaves.

    And congrats on your many distinctions too! I never noticed they didn’t add up to 6 until you pointed it out… nor did I notice the tuna can…

  4. Why do you taunt us so? I nearly licked my screen trying to get to that coffee. Does this make me an addict??

    Chickens are actually pretty cool creatures when you get to know them. We hope to bring in a half-dozen or so when I get the garden more set up. There is NOTHING like your own fresh free-range eggs and it’s one of the things I really missed when I moved out of home. I buy free-range but it’s not the same and grow-yer-own.

    I’m envying your lime tree right now, too. I can’t wait to get some proper trees growing around here. I found a place that sells citrus grafted onto dwarf rootstock – small size tree with regular size fruit – so I’m looking to get a Tahitian lime and a kaffir lime. One day soon….

    *sigh*

    Keep up the good work, my dear! The fact that you’re studying as well as working full time is an impressive thing – doubly so when you casually mention your marks. You go, girl!!! (*gets out the rah-rah equipment*)

  5. Congratulations on your good uni grades, dear sweetrosie! πŸ˜€

    Sigh….I sure wish I live near you and I’ll be popping over all the time to have coffee with you! That sure was a nice virtual cup of coffee plus a lovely virtual stroll in the gardens with you. πŸ˜†

    The town council here has banned everyone from rearing chickens for many years now but I remember when I was a kid, practically everyone had their own reared chickens and there would be a big, fat, juicy chicken served at the Chinese New Year Eve’s Family Reunion Dinner. πŸ˜€

    Have a great week ahead!

    Hugs,

    choesf πŸ˜€

  6. Congrats on your stellar grades, Angela! Your family must be so proud of you πŸ™‚

    Thank you for inviting us all for a tour around your house. And my word, I never knew chickens love live mice! Something new to learn every day πŸ™‚

  7. Thank you all for your very kind words – I was very touched. Your encouragement has meant a lot to me over the last semester πŸ™‚
    *big hug for all my bloggy friends *

    I really do wish you could all come over for coffee, then I could talk to you in person and take a really bad photograph of you as a momento! πŸ˜‰
    (that chicken photo is a shocker! I’m not improving at all…)

  8. Hi Rosie,

    Its been some time and u’ve been up to a lot! I really applaud ur efforts in meeting with ur cupcake orders. I’m sure its really not a lot of money compared to the time and effort that goes into them. By the way, do your chicks often die? Ours don’t seem to be hardy at all. Especially if it rains a lot.

  9. Thank you happygrub πŸ™‚ You know, our chooks seem to live very long and happy lifes. The average is about 4 years I think, then they seem to pass on. The hardiest by far are the ex-battery hens we buy and it’s a good feeling to give them a happy home for a while, even if they don’t lay as many eggs ’cause they’re older.
    I wonder if the heat and himidity get to your little ones? I must admit, I avoid buying baby chicks, too many worries!

Leave a Reply

