Geisha Paintings – by monty

My husband knows I have a love of Japanese woodcut paintings and started to do a series as a gift to me. This is the first:

I also adore this painting. It’s a work in progress and I think he is capturing the fabrics of the kimono so beautifully.

monty comes from a family of very talented artists. His sister, Susan Simonini won the Border art prize last year and now makes her living as an artist. I’ve put the link to her latest exhibition HERE.

I really hope monty submits his work to a gallery one day. I don’t think I’m biased – he’s brilliant!

10 thoughts on “Geisha Paintings – by monty

  1. No, you’re not the least biased at all. These are wonderful! I love the lighting in the second; how it shines flatteringly upon her soft features. What a talented husband you have!

  2. Dear sweetrosie ! 🙂

    Those paintings are breathtaking. Give my best and congratulations to your husband.

    Love,as always,rose

  3. He is amazingly talented! I don’t know the first thing about art, but the kimono is so real it looks like a photograph to me. What a lucky girl you are! 🙂

  4. Rosie – if you’re biased, move over – I’m on the bus right with you. Tell your husband that if he doesn’t persue entering his work to a show, he’ll never realize his full potential. His work is exquisite – the detail is awesome and the capture of geisha expression is wonderful. And if he even remotely thinks his work isn’t worthy – then fine, I’ll take it and proudly hang it in my house. He has captured the sensuous nature of the geisha – bravo.

    Okay Rosie…you can send me my pay now. Did I do okay? (just kidding)

  5. heehee, cheque’s in the mail 😉
    I can’t wait to show everyone the other painting now. He’s working on more within the same theme.
    I still can’t believe I have this wonderful artist “in house”! He’s so generous with it too – if I ask for a portrait of Nick Cave or David Bowie in pencil; voila! I get it ( I must take photos of those 2 as well)
    Thanks again giz – it was lovely to “meet” you. Hope you can come visit again soon 🙂

  6. Lucky you, dear sweetrosie, you have such a multi-talented husband who could paint so exquisitely and yet, can also lay a new kitchen floor for you! 😀

    With love and hugs,

    choesf 😀

  7. Tell your husband he must pursue the art…I was looking for ideas for some geisha stained glass and tumbled on your site….Great job and wish i could capture the look in glass soon……lol……joe

  8. Thank you Joe, I’ll be sure to pass on your kind words- he’ll be tickled pink!
    Your idea for the glass work sounds just lovely. The geisha would be beautiful captured in glass.That kind of bespoke glass work would be sure to do well I would imagine.Good luck with it all and thanks again for taking the time to say such nice things 🙂

Leave a Reply

