Roasted Vegetable Couscous

 

ย couscous-closeup.jpg

I have never made “real” couscous. The one where the grains have to steamed for a long time, usually over the simmering tagine of something savoury.

I use the instant. It takes a few minutes. I have read that there is no comparison to the from-scratch couscous, and I believe it. However, practicality is having it’s way most dinner times at our place and the instant reigns supreme ๐Ÿ™‚

You know how sometimes rice or pasta just seem to be the “wrong” thing to serve with a meal? but you still want something starchy that helps soak up the sauce? couscous is the answer. We don’t eat it all that often, but I always enjoy it when I do.

Making it, well the instant one anyway, is easy. Equal quanities of couscous and boiling water go into a bowl, get covered with a lid or foilย and soak for a couple of minutes. Then just fluff it up with a fork and toss in your desired flavourings.

Easiest of all is lemon juice, chopped flat-leaf parsley and finely chopped garlic. Kind of like a couscous tabbouli ๐Ÿ™‚

ย You can add a slurp of olive oil, or a pat of butter if you like. I didn’t need to this time as my roasted vegetables hadย  oil on them.

couscous-veg.jpg

I roasted up grape tomtoes, pumpkin, whole garlic cloves, carrot and red capsicum in olive oil, salt, pepper. Pretty much like I doย  HERE.

When they were cooked I tossed them through the soaked couscous, along with a half cup of peas I had microwaved.

Messy photos I know, but this lamb stew was delicious:) Very plain and ordinary, just a simple hot-pot kind of stew. A bit like THIS ONE.ย but without the potato.

couscous-bowl.jpg

Lovely comfort food – the left-overs were much sought after ๐Ÿ™‚

7 thoughts on “Roasted Vegetable Couscous

  1. Instant couscous rules!! The roasted veg look excellent – what colour! I usually can’t wait that long and just throw in a finely diced tomato, spring onions and some parsley and mint. The lamb stew also looks good – what time do you normally have dinner??? ๐Ÿ™‚ Om nom nom nom…

  2. SweetRosie – I made the banana cake this weekend also – and it’s almost all gone.!! In the next week I’m going to be posting my Nana’s sponge cake recipe. It’s really good. She couldn’t drive a car, but she made a mean sponge.

  3. teehee, come over about 7pm ninazero ๐Ÿ™‚

    Cathie, I can’t wait to try your Nana’s sponge. My family love a sponge cake filled with jam and cream. That banana cake of yours is a winner every time. It’s just brilliant.

  4. I didn’t know couscous had an “original form”. Oops.. The roasted veg and couscous make such a healthy combination. I’ve never had lamb stew with couscous, I’ll dump my mashed potatoes and try it with couscous next time!

  5. Hello there, dear sweetrosie ๐Ÿ˜€

    How are you? You must be very busy with uni and work and yet, you still have time to come out with these recent recipes. It has been a while since I wrote to you – for 2 weeks, I was busy catching up with my Hong Kong ancient Chinese drama series! ๐Ÿ˜†

    I have always wanted to try some couscous recipes but have trouble finding couscous here in KL. A Swiss friend’s mom cooked couscous for me and my husband 20 years ago and its wonderful taste and texture still remain vivid in my mind. I found a packet of instant couscous at the Carrefour hypermarket here but it tasted different from what I had! ๐Ÿ™„

    If only I can pop over and have some of your couscous! ๐Ÿ˜†

    Good night and sweet dreams!

    With love and hugs,

    choesf ๐Ÿ˜€

  6. coffesnob – I’m with you on the polenta. I don’t mind it when it’s fried, like a cake, but I really don’t like the mush at all. Couscous, I’ll have it for a change, it’s ok but I still prefer my rice ๐Ÿ™‚ We’ve had no appetite for anything this week. Guacomole, sandwiches, that’s about it. The heat here is incredible at the moment xx

    dear choesf ๐Ÿ™‚ I am so, so hot & busy! we are going into a week that marks some kind of disgusting all-time national heat record! 40C again today, same yesterday, no change until next Wednesday! EVERYONE is tired and you can imagine how dry Adelaide is looking ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
    big hug – wish I was in KL…

Leave a Reply

