Baby Spinach, Pear & Feta Salad ( with a crumbed chop!)

This salad was a little invention of mine, and it was just lovely!

spinach-salad.jpg

 I had baby spinach that I wanted to use in a salad, feta  in the fridge, gorgeous little semi-dried grape tomatoes (no bigger than my thumb-nail) and Bartlett pears just ripe enough to slice, but not too ripe they’d fall apart.

Here’s the entire list of ingredients + the dressing I made to go with it;

  • a few bits of iceberg lettuce
  • a couple of handfuls of baby spinach
  • 1 just-ripe pear, cut into wedges
  • about a quarter cup of shaved feta cheese
  • 1/2 a sliced red onion
  • about a quarter cup, maybe a bit less of semi-dried grape tomatoes.

The dressing was really just a teaspoon of Dijon mustard, some balsamic vinegar, some extra-virgin olive oil, salt and freshly ground pepper. I shook it all together in a bottle with a lid and the mustard helps emulsify everything so the oil and vinegar didn’t separate.

I had some chump lamb chops in the fridge too. Lamb goes beautifully with spinach, feta and pears.

I also had some gluten free “breadcrumbs” I wanted to try out. They are made by Ogran, have no gluten content at all, and are made from rice.

The crumbs are almost white, and about as fine as regular crumbs. I mixed them with some Parmesan cheese, salt and pepper and went about crumbing the chops in the regular way – seasoned flour, then a dip in beaten egg, and finally a good pressing into the crumbs.

I shook off all the extra crumbs that didn’t stick. if you don’t they only drop off into the pan when you’re cooking the chops and make black speckles that stick to the food 🙂

They went into the fridge for half an hour so the coating could firm up. It makes the crumb coating less likely to drop off when you cook them.

These were shallow fried in peanut oil and well drained paper towel.

spinach-salad-chop.jpg

 You can also brush or spray the chops with oil and bake them in the oven if you prefer. The result is drier, but quite OK.

This really was a lovely meal. The chops were tasty and tender and the salad a perfect compliment.

Sorry the photos show everything half eaten 🙂 Myf had been using my camera again and didn’t change the batteries when they ran out… consequently, the meal was half gone by the time I’d come back from my battery hunt and loaded up 🙂

3 thoughts on “Baby Spinach, Pear & Feta Salad ( with a crumbed chop!)

  1. Rosie, I was just sitting here reading your blog when my 6 yr old came up and said “Mom I’m hungry”, so I said “what do you want to eat?”, and she said “that” and pointed to your baby pear and feta spinich salad. So here I am, it’s 10:30 at night, and I know I am just going for the illusion of sameness. I put some green lettuce and red cabbage on a plate, sliced some canned pears and arranged them like a flower on top of the lettuce, then sprinkled it with some golden raisins, and over the top drizzled pear juice and a little vinegarette. It is very child friendly gourmet.Thank you for the inspiration, I wish I had a picture! She just called to me that she wants more (those gourmet portions are never enough).

  2. Oh, that is such a compliment! Thank you very much. Be sure to tell your daughter that I am sure she is going to be a real “foodie” when she’s a big girl 🙂 She’s just like my daughter when she was little. Now she’s an 18-year-old and still a very discerning eater 🙂

    I’m glad she didn’t ask for the crumbed chops as well…

    Have a lovely weekend.

Leave a Reply

