Boiled Eggs & Figs From the Garden

My darling husband has spent the last few weekends laying a new kitchen floor and jazzing up my (very old) kitchen cupboards with a coat of paint and new handles.

We chose the wood veneer floating floor-boards and it looks beautiful. So much nicer than the ratty old lino that was there before. I love walking on it – so smooth πŸ™‚

The cupboards have been painted in an off-white colour called “scented wax”, and the handles are a simple brushed finish chrome.

Anyway. All this work in the kitchen has meant meals have had to be simple and quick. We’ve had take-away a few times, and other meals have been along the lines of this:

eggs-and-a-roll.jpg

The eggs are from our chickens which have decided to start laying again. This is actually a favourite of both my husband and daughter. Hard boiled eggs with a fresh buttered roll. I don’t mind it, but I’m more inclined to mash up the egg and stuff it into the roll…

We also had quite a bit of fruit. The figs are from the garden and the peaches came fromΒ one of monty’s work colleagues.

figs.jpg

peaches.jpg

 

Fresh fruit from the garden is such a treat. It really is totally different from most of the shop fruit you buy. The peaches were a real treat. The flavour was unbelievable. I am probably guilty of not being discerning enough in my shopping habits most of the time. If I managed to get to the Farmer’s Market at Wayville, or made an effort to source a really good, possibly organic source, we couldΒ  enjoy these treats more often.

I am 100% committed to the idea and principles of organic and “slow-food”. I support producers when I can, it’s just not often enough. I am really am grateful, that at least I can make some organic and bio-dynamic choices in the supermarkets I go to (usually in a flying visit before or after work)

Life kind-of gets in the way doesn’t it? Busy, busy, busy πŸ™‚

So, until I turn into superwoman, or they add another 6 hours to the day we are going to have to savour these moments as they come along πŸ™‚

7 thoughts on “Boiled Eggs & Figs From the Garden

  1. Happy Sunday, dear sweetrosie! πŸ˜€

    It’s a wonderful feeling indeed tasting the “harvest” from your garden….wow, I have never had eggs that fresh before. πŸ˜† Congrats on your new kitchen cabinet paint and flooring – they generate fresh chi into your kitchen, good feng shui! πŸ˜‰

    With love and hugs,

    choesf πŸ˜€

  2. Hi Rosie! Take some photos of your new kitchen and put it up on the blog! Congrats, you’re lucky your husband sounds like a god handyman.

    Your photos look nice and cheery and I’m so jealous you have fresh fruit and eggs!

  3. Hi happygrub! OK, I’ll do that, it’s not a very “fancy” kitchen or anything, but it is sweet πŸ™‚ and it does have a beautiful floor!

    Congratulations on graduating from uni! What did you study? You were so close – only $50 odd away in a plane! You could have come over and sat in the kitchen…

    Thanks for your lovely words about my photos. I know they are a bit odd – you make me feel much better about them xx

    dear choesf! πŸ™‚ your lovely words never fail to make me feel better πŸ™‚ The kitchen does feel energized, you’re right.

    It’s lovely having the chickens. When I have to buy eggs I am always shocked at the cost and how “un-fresh” they seem compared to our own.
    with love & hugs for you xx

  4. You have chickens? How jealous am i. What kind are they? I used to have Japanese chickens- they’re miniature ones- and they would come running towards me every time i clapped my hands for they knew it only meant one thing- feeding time. Cutest things ever.

  5. hey coffeesnob πŸ™‚ yep, we have some naughty, greedy chickens! I used to have quite a few little bantams; silkies and the like, and I’m hoping to get some more when the cooler weather starts- they are too pretty πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

