Beautiful Lemon Slice

lemon-slice-bars-2.jpg 

I adapted this recipe from the gorgeous site butter sugar flour

The most beautiful food photography, yummy recipes and an all-round good read 🙂 butter sugar flour mentions that she had adapted the lemon slice recipe from the wildly popular food blog ; smitten kitchen

It’s a wonderful thing blogging! Recipes are tried and refined, tweaked, personalised and adapted and then shared again and again and again.

This slice is sure to be a family favourite! It is so easy to make, slices beautifully and tastes absolutely wonderful. More decadent than a biscuit or cookie, yet not as substantial or “dessert-like” as a cheesecake or tart, it really is my good fortune to be able to add this recipe to my collection 🙂

I hope that you enjoy my adaptation of:

LEMON SLICE

For the shortbread base you will need:

  • 200g butter, preferably unsalted. Softened to room temperature
  • 3/4’s of a cup of white sugar
  • 2 cups of plain flour
  • a 1/4 teaspoon of salt (omit if you are using salted butter)

Preheat the oven to 375F / 180C.

Grease a baking pan that is about 30cm x 20cm. Line it with baking paper. The baking paper needs to extend over the edges of the pan. This will make the slice easy to lift out in one piece.

I didn’t cut the baking paper to shape. I kind of fitted it into the corners with a little pleat and fold 🙂

I used the Kenwood Chef fitted with the K beater, but any stand mixer will do. Or hand mixer, or by hand, if that’s how you like to cook 🙂

Cream the butter and sugar together until very pale and fluffy.

Tip in the flour, and the salt if you are using it and beat it well.

Now tip the mixture into your prepared pan, and using a spatula or knife, start gently spreading it to cover the base.

The baking paper will want to shift about, just take it slow and easy.

You want to try and get an even layer of shortcrust over the whole base.

Bake in the oven until lightly golden – about 20 minutes.

MAKE YOUR FILLING WHILE THE BASE IS BAKING

Note: I didn’t bother washing the bowl or beater *blush* There really wasn’t any need.

This is what you need for the filling:

  • 6 large eggs
  • 2 and a  1/2 cups of white sugar
  • the zest from 4 large lemons
  • 1 cup of lemon juice
  • 3/4’s of a  cup of plain flour

Reduce the oven temperature to 300F / 150F

Put the eggs and sugar into the bowl and beat them very well for about 3 minutes.

Tip in the lemon zest and the lemon juice and beat well again.

With the mixer speed on LOW, slowly add the flour, bit-by-bit. Doing it slowly will prevent it lumping up in there.

When everything is well mixed and smooth, tip it onto the baked shortcrust base.

Put it into the oven and bake for about 30 minutes.

It is ready when it is firm to touch and lightly browned around the edges.

Take it out of the oven and straight away give it a nice thick layer of icing sugar. I tipped the icing sugar into a sieve and just sprinkled it over.

lemon-slice-in-pan.jpg

Putting the icing sugar on the slice while it is still hot will mean that not so much of it falls of. The heat seems to make the icing sugar stick 🙂

Cool the slice in the pan, and then, using the baking paper, lift it out onto your cutting board.

lemon-slice-whole.jpg

Using a sharp knife, cut the slice into bars, squares or smaller nibbly bits.

9 thoughts on “Beautiful Lemon Slice

  1. Wow, dear sweetrosie, you have been doing quite some baking and the desserts look absolutely scrumptious! We love lemons and shortbread and therefore, this recipe combines both in the best manner. Thank you for sharing this. 😀

    Good night from KL!

    With love and hugs,

    choesf 😀

  2. Wow, dear sweetrosie, you have been doing quite some baking and the desserts look absolutely scrumptious! We love lemons and shortbread and therefore, this recipe combines both in the best manner. Thank you for sharing this. 😀

    Good night from KL!

    With love and hugs,

    choesf 😀

  3. Thank you dear choesf 🙂

    The slice has proven to be very popular. I will definately be making this one again.

    Have a lovely evening!

    with love and a big hug for you 🙂

  4. Whoo! I’ve been mentioned on another blog! 🙂

    Glad you liked the lemon slice. I thought it was great!

    P.S. I have a Kenwood beater too, aren’t they just the best?

  5. I’ve bookmarked this for the longest time ever! I’ve always seen them around the blogs, but have yet to try it out. Now that you’ve made them, I’ve got reminded of it again, and hope to try them out pretty soon! Yours look so lovely; I’m sure they were a hit! 🙂

  6. Linda – another blog? Your photography is so spectacular, your posts should be in a MAGAZINE! Unbelievable 🙂 Lovely recipes too 🙂 I honestly don’t know what I’d do without my Kenwood. They’re great.

    hey ovenhaven 🙂 I had an idea to try the filling for the slice with rice flour next time – like a kueh? The filling is kind of like that. I know you’ll love the slice when you make it 🙂

  7. Hi SweetRosie, you should be proud of me!
    I made this slice this afternoon. It was delicious, thankyou. I may even bring some in on Monday to see if it is up to scratch!
    Keep up your great blog.

  8. I AM proud of you Kate – that’s brilliant!

    Now, you need to give me a very honest critque and let me know how I can improve the recipe and/or the method. Don’t hold back now! 🙂

    Thanks for the kind words. I am so pleased you like my blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

