Baked Cheesecake # Peach & Vanilla Jam

My Mum brought over a gorgeous pot of peach and vanilla jam she had made with summer peaches. It looked like the perfect topping for a baked cheesecake.

cheesecake-with-jam-slice.jpg

Here is the recipe I used. Please note that this makes a rather large cheesecake. The springform pan I used is about 12″. If you wanted a deeper cheesecake you could make yours in a smaller pan.

I made my own biscuit crust base using a recipe that’s very similar to Anzac biscuits. Here is a recipe for these much-loved, and so-simple-to-make Aussie favourites. I added a bit more butter to the recipe, and used shredded coconut instead of dessicated.

I think that Anzac biscuits will always be known as biscuits, never  Anzac cookies.

You could use any biscuit base you liked for your cheesecake. Plain biscuits, crushed and mixed with melted butter are the usual base.

BAKED CHEESECAKE

Pre-heat the oven to 350F / 150C

  • 500G cream cheese
  • 1 and a half cups of sugar ( reduce this if you think it may be too sweet for your tastes)
  • the grated zest of 2 lemons or 2 oranges or flavour yours with vanilla: I would suggest 2 teaspoons of vanilla extract or the seeds from a 1 scraped vanilla pod or 1 teaspoon of bottled vanilla paste
  • 5 large eggs
  • 400ml cream
  • a pinch of salt

Bring the cream cheese to room temperature. Beat until soft and fluffy. Add the sugar and zest or vanilla and beat again.

Add the eggs, one at a time, beating well after each one.

Now add the cream and beat only until it is combined.

There, it’s done 🙂

Pour into your biscuit crust lined springform pan.

Put the pan onto the middle rack of your oven.

Bake for about 50 minutes. Timing here is a tricky one. The custard mixture needs to set, but it can take more or less than 50 minutes, depending on your oven, the size of the pan, altitude and just serendipity… Test it by poking a skewer into the centre after 50 minutes. You don’t want it to be liquid. If it is, bake for another 10 minutes and test again. Repeat if necessary.

Some people suggest cooling your cheesecake in the oven (switched off). They say it prevents the top from cracking. Well, it doesn’t work for me, but try it if you like…

Eaten at room temperature this cheesecake is like a very luscious, rich and dense custard tart. Chilled for about 6 hours, or overnight, it becomes creamy, “heavier” and more cake-like.

Cheesecake can be topped with anything you fancy: fresh fruits, whipped cream or creme fraiche, conserves or jams, or make a  fruit sauce, lightly thickened with cornflour or arrowroot.

I hope you enjoy  my baked cheesecake recipe.

8 thoughts on “Baked Cheesecake # Peach & Vanilla Jam

  1. Glad that you enjoyed the jam. The summer fruits have been wonderful. Last night we had chocolate ice cream topped with some beautiful black cherries which I had poached about two weeks ago in red wine and spices. The syrup was perfect with the chocolate.
    Must try your beautiful cheesecake recipe.

  2. What cream did u use?? Looks lovely! Love cheesecake.

    The peach and vanilla jam sounds like a wonderful combination. I bought lots of vanilla pods from Bali. Is it expensive in Australia? Here its S$1.25 each. I bought by pods in Bali for S$25 for half a kilo, which is like a gazillion beans. Ok Ok… At least bout 100+ beans.

    Do you have a recipe for strawberry jam? And do u use pectin in your jams?

    PS.. I just remembered the email, I have yet to receive it!

    Another thing, a good friend of ours was waxing lyrical bout this island in M’sia, Rawa island. Check it out!!
    http://www.rawa.com.my/

  3. hey happygrub;happy weekend 🙂

    Thank you for the kind words. I just used the thickened cream in the cheesecake, just a “homebrand” one.

    You know, I haven’t bought vanilla pods for ages. I have just been using the paste in a jar lately. They are expensive – more than you’re paying 🙂 I have seen them on ebay, for what seems like a good price. I keep meaning to bid on some…. there’s nothing like real vanilla pod is there? 100 beans in the cupboard would feel wonderful – like a kings ransom in vanilla!

    I have got a very nice microwave strawberry jam recipe. It does use pectin, and lemon juice too. It’s my favourite because the jam stays a beautiful colour – doesn’t darken much at all. I’ll do some soon and post it 🙂

    Bl&%dy microsoft and their rubbish Vista mail. I will resend the email again – it’s sat there in the “sent” box – sorry darling 🙂

    Rawa looks absolutely gorgeous! That might be just the ticket for us. Thanks for the tip!

  4. Hi Jac – sure can! I’ve created a new post and put the jam recipe in that. It’s called “mum’s peach & vanilla jam” and I created it yesterday. You can use the search bar on the right hand side of the page to find it.

    Hope you enjoy it – it really is delicious!

Leave a Reply

