Beef & Vegetable Casserole for Friday Night

“Stew” is my husband’s ultimate comfort food. Well, stew and chicken broth.

casserole.jpg

What he calls stew, I grew up calling “casserole”. Call  it stew or casserole, our daughter doesn’t like it … so, Myf went to the Gold Coast for the weekend and I decided to make monty his favourite 🙂

(Myf was ecstatic to win 2 VIP tickets to the Gold Coast Big Day Out . I’ve put the Wiki link in, it’s easier than trying to explain what it is 😉 I used to go myself *sigh* it feels funny that it’s my child going now. : ) Myf has her mummy’s wanderlust and thought nothing of flying to Queensland for the weekend. Luckily, monty’s family live on the Gold Coast and Nana picked then up at the airport)

I hope I haven’t lost you. You can wake up now and we’ll talk about casserole again 🙂

 I had some diced rump steak in the freezer, and so I concocted this recipe:

  • 300g diced rump steak
  • 2 carrots. Cut into chunks
  • 2 sliced onions
  • 1/2 a cup of frozen peas
  • 6 grape tomatoes. Cut in half
  • 2 teaspoons of Worcheshire sauce
  • 1 dessertspoon of Bisto gravy powder/mix
  • salt & fresh ground black pepper
  • 1 vegetable stock cube
  • 1 and a half cups of water

Really, all I did was mix the whole lot up in a Pyrex casserole dish, cover it tightly and put it in a 350F / 180C oven for 2 hours.

I served it up with steamed baby potatoes and shredded cabbage that had been tossed in butter and garlic chives, and garlic bread.

It’s easy and it’s delicious.

I know I could have browned the meat, and browned the onions. I could have added garlic, and wine, or mushroom or celery. There could have been thyme in there, or bacon… I wanted it old school 😉

For me, the beauty of a dish like this is that it’s an absolute cinch to make, you use what you like, and, as long as you cook it long and slow, it is always delicious and comforting to eat.

2 thoughts on “Beef & Vegetable Casserole for Friday Night

  1. Wow, congratulations to Myf, too for winning those fun tickets! I could very well imagine her excitement! 😆

    I love stews or casseroles because they are so easy to make, yet they taste so hearty and delicious.

    Have a nice week ahead, dear sweetrosie!

    With love and hugs,

    choesf 😀

Leave a Reply

