Spring Rolls and a Vietnamese Salad

happyhomemaker’s heritage Malaysian chicken curry recipe required a trip to the small Asian grocer just up the road. This lady continues to expand my horizons. She is very generous with her precious family recipes, and her advice.

I needed curry paste ( I found a Malaysian chicken curry paste for $2.50), curry leaves, coconut milk, lemongrass and curry powder ( I bought Baba’s meat curry powder)

I also wanted to get another bottle of the Filipino banana chilli sauce we love so much.

What goes well with chilli sauce?

Fresh cooked spring rolls!

spring-rolls-with-sauce.jpg

These were frozen ones you cooked yourself. They were OK I guess. Not as nice as you’d make yourself at home. They needed a lot of cooking to get through the rather thick pastry wrapper and cook the inside. It was very yummy for a change though.

There’s another pack in the freezer. These are for a Vietnamese salad type of meal.

Here’s what I do for that –

  • soaked and drained rice vermicelli is put into a deep bowl
  • it is topped with a mix of shredded lettuce, coriander, mint, shredded carrot, cucumber and bean-shoots
  • fried spring rolls, cut into lengths of, say, 2 or 3 are put on the top. You can be as generous with the spring rolls as you like. We would probably have 3 spring rolls per person.
  • I generally serve 3 sauces on the side:

 1) fish sauce, a bit of sugar, a bit of lime juice, a smidge of crushed garlic and some chopped fresh chilli , it’s like nuoc cham  that indispensible Vietnamese dipping sauce 

 2) a sweet chilli sauce

3) soy sauce

When we eat, I tend to scrunch my spring rolls up and mix them into the salad and noodle. Myf and monty tend to eat everything in well put-together mouthfulls 🙂

It’s a very refreshing meal on a hot day. I make quite a few variations on this theme. Sometimes we’ll have the noodle/salad combo with stir-fry chilli chicken or pork, sometimes with crumbed (breaded) chicken or pork.

Light, fresh and singing with flavour, I think you’ll enjoy it 🙂

6 thoughts on “Spring Rolls and a Vietnamese Salad

  1. Sounds like a great salad! I often buy frozen spring rolls, and usually just serve them alone with a sauce when we do an appetizer-type meal. But this is a great idea, and I’ll have to try it.

  2. Thank you! We first had it in a little Vietnamese cafe we go to. It is really delicious 🙂

    There’s also a dish on the menu where they give you lettuce leaves and fresh herbs and you wrap the spring roll up in a lettuce leaf along with some herbs, dip it in sauce and away you go!

  3. HBi sweetrosie! 🙂

    This salad must be very yummy :)).There is no spring rolls over here, so I’ll let my imagination go and eat the salad as it is.

    Love from a big fan of salads, rose

  4. Hi rose! Thank you for your kind words 🙂

    No spring rolls! Do you have Chinese restaurants in your part of the world? I am very curious about what you eat – I hope one day you will start a blog 😉

  5. 😦 No Chinese restaurant in my small town wich is more like a big village!
    My English is not good enough to start a blog, but I will send you some of our traditional food recipes , if you want me too.

    Love always, rose { :)}

  6. Hi rose – that’s very interesting. I would love to know more about your culture, including your recipes, I really would.

    Can you share with me where you shop? (market, big supermarket, that sort of thing) I find that fascinating.

    Thank you so much for this very kind offer rose.
    Love and happiness to you 🙂

Leave a Reply

