Mango & Coconut Ice-Cream

Golden like sunshine, these mangoes were spectacular. Big, fragrant and juicy.

mango-fruit.jpg

This ice-cream is summery, rich and light – all at the same time! The coconut milk adds a “tropical” feel, and is well married to the mango. Very luscious!

This is my recipe:

MANGO & COCONUT ICE-CREAM

300ml cream

300ml milk

400ml coconut cream or milk. I used canned coconut cream

4 egg yolks

1 cup of white sugar

about 1 cup of mango . I wanted chunks of fruit in the ice-cream, so I used my hands to break up the fruit . I peeled it, and holding the fruit over a bowl to catch all the juices, I squelched it up into a roughly mashed puree. This was an excellent method of ensuring all the flesh was removed from around the stone. It can sometimes be a little hard to remove all the flesh with a knife.

The cream, milk and coconut milk was put into a heavy pan and gently heated. Meanwhile, I whisked together the yolks and the sugar in a bowl.

When the milks had almostΒ reached boiling point, I turned the heat right down and whisked in the yolk/sugar mixture, being sure to whisk all the time as it went in.

The mixture was brought back up to near boiling point again. You can’t boil this kind of custardΒ mixture. The egg kind of scrambles and ruins everything. Go slowly. Use a spoon to taste some of the mixture and test the heat. I think it’s better to err on the side of caution and remove from the heat early rather than go too far. With practice you do get to know when it should come off – honest πŸ™‚

I thoroughly chilled the custard mixture in the fridge.

I set up the Krups ice-cream maker and starting churning the cold custard mixture. When it started to thicken up, I tipped in the mango and continued to churn until it was ready.

Beautiful.

mango-ice-cream.jpg

This ice-cream does benefit from being taken out of the freezer for a spell until it slightly softens before eating.

9 thoughts on “Mango & Coconut Ice-Cream

  1. Dear sweetrosie, πŸ˜€

    Thank you for your ice cream recipes …… hmmm, you have got me thinking of buying an ice cream maker so that I can try out your recipes. Seeing as how the weather is always so hot here and the premium ice creams that we buy from the supermarkets are so expensive, it would be better to make some at home – I’m sure my family would jump with joy at that! πŸ˜‰

    Have a nice day!

    With love, peace and joy,

    choesf πŸ˜€

  2. You are so right dear choesf – premium ice-cream is very expensive to buy in the shops and you can make your own at a fraction of the cost.

    The 1.5 litre container of mango & coconut ice-cream only cost me about $6 to make. I shudder to think what I’d pay in one of our gelato shops!

    I have a simple Krups ice-cream maker. I was lucky enough to find mine (unused!) at a garage sale for $30 πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    Love and joy to you x

  3. Dear sweetrosie, πŸ˜€

    I looked around the Internet yesterday just to get an idea about the prices of ice-cream makers and found out there are so many types of ice-cream makers.

    Is yours an electric one? How old is your machine and are you happy with this brand? I will have visit the shopping malls to have a look at the ice-cream makers, which I think are rare here as I have not heard of anyone making their own ice cream at home with a machine. Electrical goods cost a lot here – you are lucky to get one so cheap at a garage sale. The online store prices range from US$20 (used ones) to US$150 (new ones). πŸ™„

    Hope you keep those ice cream recipes coming! I think your ice cream fan base is building up here! πŸ˜†

    Cheers!

    choesf πŸ˜€

  4. Hi dear choesf! late reply because I am now back at work… 😦

    I am very happy with my Krups ice-cream maker. It has a 1.5 litre bowl which you freeze before making the ice-cream. The motor and paddle then sit on top and you plug it in ( while it’s on the bench – not in the freezer) It takes 25-30 minutes to “make” the ice-cream, as long as your mixture is very cold.

    The model I have is superseded by one that looks identical to mine, except it has an LED screen, probably a counter. I have seen these on-line for $80.

    I have heard of people being very happy with both the Sunbeam models – there’s a $300 one (!) and a little $60-70 one called a Frosty, or something similiar to that.

    I was wondering if you would have any more luck trying to buy one in Singapore?

    Happy hunting dear choesf – let me know if I can help in any way. πŸ™‚

  5. Thank you for your tips, dear sweetrosie! πŸ˜€ I’m sure I can find one here in KL, but I know those appliances in Singapore will be cheaper. I’ll probably get one that is not too expensive. πŸ˜‰

    Oh, I got a brand new electronic rice cooker today and I am so tickled by the functions that it has – it can bake cakes! Needless to say, I blogged about it a few minutes ago! πŸ™„ πŸ˜†

    Good night!

    With love and hugs,

    choesf πŸ˜€

  6. thats a great recipe! just a little tip: to avoid the ice cream getting rock hard just add about 20ml of vodka per litre while churning, u cant taste it but it gives it a much better texture when frozen, so u dont have to let it sit out for a bit before u can scoop it.

Leave a Reply

