Coffee and Cardamom Ice-Cream

Eat and be Happy inspired this recipe. My plan was to follow the recipe she had adapted from The Perfect Scoop, but, me being me, things got changed along the way…

coffee-ice-cream-scoop.jpg 

I wanted a coffee ice-cream that brought to mind my favourite Malaysian kopi ais. My favourite style of kopi is served strong with lashings of condensed milk over ice. The coffee beans  for this brew are sometimes roasted with butter, and sometimes with sugar and sesame seed. The brew is filtered through a sock-looking filter and is taken hot or iced, with condensed milk and without. I love it!

I wanted to make a strongly flavoured ice-cream, sweetened with condensed milk and scented with cardamom.

This Is My Recipe

coffee-ice-cream-ingredients.jpg

  • 1 cup of coarsely ground coffee beans
  • 1 and a half cups of milk
  • 1 and a half cups of cream ( I had a bit of brandy flavoured cream left over from Christmas so that went in)
  • 1/2 a cup of sugar
  • 5 egg yolks
  • 1 tin of condensed milk
  • 3 bruised cardamom pods

coffee-ice-cream-cardamon.jpg

The coffee beans and cardamom were added to the combined milk and cream and slowly heated. When it came to the boiling point, I turned off the heat and left the mixture for 1/2 an hour, so all the flavours could infuse the milk.

coffee-ice-cream-pan-in-milk.jpg

I whisked up the yolks and the sugar and then added the condensed milk.

I strained the milk mixture through a fine sieve and discarded the ground coffee. The pan was washed out and the strained milk mixture went back into the pan. I added the yolk/sugar/condensed milk mixture and heated the whole lot up, stirring constantly until it thickened slightly was was just below boiling point.

You can’t let these custard type mixtures boil. It cooks the egg and make it scramble. Just take it slow. Use a spoon dipped into the mixture and pressed against your lip to test the temperature. Or use your little, dainty, sparkly clean finger….

I strained the mixture again and chilled the whole lot until it was very cold.

coffee-ice-cream-maker.jpg

Then it went into the Krups ice-cream maker and churned for about 30 minutes.

THE VERDICT

Just lovely. Speckled with tiny coffee grounds and a rich brown colour, this ice-cream has an almost semi-freddo texture- creamy, soft and luscious.

I suspect the extra sugar from the condensed milk contributed to the soft texture.

The flavour is  good and strong, with a hint of cardamom. It was the perfect accompaniment to a slice of warm Christmas pudding.

It is rich. I think that this is an ice-cream best served in smallish quantities to compliment desserts with dried fruit or chocolate in them.

It also goes without saying that this packs quite a caffeine punch! Maybe not one for children or insomniacs 😉 

I hope you enjoy this recipe. I would love to hear what you think if you ever try it.

2 thoughts on “Coffee and Cardamom Ice-Cream

Leave a Reply

