Malaysian Curry Puffs – For My Mum xx

My mum is catering a Christmas Eve function this year ( it runs in the family !) and asked if I’d post my recipe for curry puffs.

I had done a previous curry puff post highlighting Happy Home Makers lovely baked curry puffs. They are perfect for when deep frying is too much of a smelly, messy prospect 🙂 

 This recipe makes a puff that is  fried, cocktail size and quite delicious.

This is what I use

1 packet of shortcrust pastry sheets – the one I buy has 4 sheets to the packet

oil for frying – I usually use peanut, sunflower or canola

3 biggish potatoes – I microwave them until they are tender and then peel them

1/2 cup of frozen peas

1 teaspoon each of whole fennel seeds and whole black mustard seeds

salt to taste

about 8 crumbled fresh or dried curry leaves if you’ve got them

finely chopped green chilli to taste – chilli varies so much in heatiness and every person has their own limits. It’s all up to you. I use 2 long green chillis

2 teaspoons of turmeric – again fresh grated is nicer but dried is fine

2 big cloves of garlic – finely chopped or grated

1/2 a large onion or 1 medium onion – very finely chopped

a thumb size (medium size ladies thumb!) of finely chopped or grated ginger – dried ginger is not a suitable alternative here. Omit altogether if you can’t get fresh.

……………………………………………………………………………………….

Heat about a tablespoon of oil in your pan and throw in the mustard and fennel seeds and the curry leaves.

When they become aromatic, but before the fennel goes brown, add the ginger, garlic, chillii and onion.

Gently fry until the onion is soft. Do not allow to brown.

Roughly chop the potatoes into pieces and tip into the pan. Sprinkle with the turmeric and the salt and stir all about.

You are aiming for a rough mashed potato kind of consistency so you can stir it vigorously.

Add the peas and 1 cup of water.

Cook until everything is amalgamated into a lovely spicy mashed potato mix and the water has evaporated. Stir it often as it is cooking.

Turn off the heat and leave to cool to room temperature or put it in the fridge if you’re making the mixture ahead.

I use a large scone cutter to cut out my pastry circles and I end up getting 9 circles per sheet of pastry.

Hold the pastry circle in your hand and scoop up a little teaspoon of your mixture. Smear it into the middle of the pastry circle and bring the edges of the pastry up to the top to close the puff. Pinch the edges together to seal the puff. There is no need to moisten the pastry.

Just don’t try to put too much filling on the circle. It will either burst and squidge out or won’t close at all 🙂

One of the reasons the potato mixture should be a tasty, spicy mix is that there is relatively little mixture inside these baby curry puffs. You want the mix to pack a lot of flavour.

Heat up about 3 inches of oil in your wok or pan. I use my Circulon wok. Deep frying scares me 😮 so I would never fill my pan up with oil. I’ve come to realise there is no need to. 3 inches is more than enough for this quantity.

Test to see if the oil is hot enough by dropping in a pastry scrap.

If it starts to sizzle straight away you know the oil is ready.

Cook the puffs about 5 at a time until they are golden brown.

Drain on a plate lined with kitchen towel.

These are nicest warm or at room temperature.

Last time I made them I served them with a yoghurt, corinder and mint sauce and a sweet tamarind sauce.

Even the leftovers got eaten cold, straight out of the fridge 🙂

Lotsa luck Mum!

One thought on “Malaysian Curry Puffs – For My Mum xx

Leave a Reply

