Christmas Pudding: Day 2

My beautiful pudding is simmering away as I write.

I guarantee  this stage is as easy as DAY 1 and the results are all worth it! You’ll find all the initial ingredients and what you need to do in this link

I hope that my using two different types of bowls to cook the puddings in isn’t too confusing 🙂

The larger pudding, and the one I cooked first, has a self-locking lid. It comes as a set.

The smaller bowls have no lids and have to be covered with baking paper and foil: these are the two smaller bowls of pudding in the photos.

 

This is what you will need for day 2:

chriisy-pud-day-2-ingredients.jpg

  • 200g butter – I prefer unsalted but salted is fine too if that’s all you have

  • 1 cup of dark brown sugar – if you can’t get dark brown sugar, just use the lighter soft brown sugar. You can of course use white sugar, although brown adds to the taste and colour of the pudding

  • 3 eggs at room temperature

  • 1 cup of plain flour

  • 1 cup of fresh breadcrumbs – by fresh I mean from a loaf, not the dried ones from the supermarket. I made mine in the blender

  • 1 cup of ground almonds – you can use packaged but it is so much cheaper and nicer to make your own. Again, I just used the blender. I didn’t skin the almonds

  • 1 tsp bicarbonate of soda. This helps aerate or lighten heavy cakes and puddings.

  • 1 tablespoon of treacle. You may have trouble tracking this down if you are not in the UK or Australia. Molasses is a perfect substitute, or just omit from the recipe. You won’t really notice – honest *wink*

  • 2 teaspoons of mixed spice. Make up your own mix if you like. Mixed spice generally contains cinnamon, cloves, nutmeg and allspice

  • 1 teaspoon of freshly grated nutmeg

  • 1/2 teaspoon salt

You will also need:

  • pudding basins. Any heatproof basin will do. This quantity made one large pudding ( probably enough for 10 serves) and two smaller ones. I like to make a couple of smaller ones to give as gifts, but you can make huge pudding or 2 medium size ones, or all small ones.

  • kitchen string

  • baking paper

  • foil

  • a pot large enough to boil your pudding in

  • an old saucer or trivet to sit on the bottom of your pan. The pudding will sit on this so it’s not touching the base of the pan.

This is what you do:

  1. cream the butter and sugar together until it is fluffy

  2. add the spices and the treacle if you’re using it

  3. add the eggs, one at a time, beating well after adding each one

beating-butter-and-suagar.jpg                   breadcrumbs-and-almond.jpg                   

  1. scrape down the bowl and add the breadcrumbs, almond meal, bicarbonate of soda, salt, flour and the soaked fruit mix you made yesterday

  2. mix well

That’s it!

Grease your pudding basins with spray on non-stick spray or butter. Using the bowl as a template, trace and cut out a circle of baking paper to fit into the base of your bowl.

The pudding bowl in the photo below has it’s own self-locking lid. I will not need to cover this one with paper and foil.

chrissy-pud-bowl.jpg

chrssy-pud-in-bowl.jpg

Pile in your pudding mix until it is about 2 cm below the rim of the bowl.

Give it a shake and a couple of taps on the bench to settle the mixture and knock out any air bubbles.

If your pudding basin has it’s own lid, put it on now. If it doesn’t…

Tear off a sheet of baking paper and make a pleat in the middle of this. Do the same with a piece of foil. Lay the baking paper and then the foil over the top of the pudding. You need some overhang. Tie string firmly around the bowl to secure the paper and foil. I like to go around three times, but then I do go over the top with things sometimes…once or twice is probably fine.

chrissy-pud-baking-paper.jpg

chrissy-pud-foil.jpg

Tie the string off tightly.

Gather up the excess foil and tuck and crumble it up over the string – like a collar. Trim the excess baking paper away with scissors.

Have a look at the first photo below- we are going to make a loop of string to take the place of a “handle” on top of our pudding bowl.

Just as if you were wrapping a parcel with string or ribbon, tie string around the bowl, finishing at the top. Make a long loop. This is our “handle”

 This loop will help you get the pudding out of the pan when it has finished cooking. It can sometimes be tricky to maneuver the bowl out of a deep pan without this handy string.

chrissy-pud-string-loop.jpg        chrissy-pud-saucer-in-pan.jpg                chrissy-pud-water-in-pan.jpg  

Put your saucer on the bottom of your pan and put your pudding on the saucer.

Put the pan on the stove and carefully fill the pan with boiling water until it reaches halfway up the sides of the pudding bowl. You will need to top up the water so it stays at this level during the cooking time.

Put the lid on the pan.

The large pudding in the photo ( the one with the lid) will boil at a fast simmer for 3.5 hours.

 The smaller ones (the ones covered with paper & foil) will be boiled for 2 hours.

Remember to top up the water. Do not let the pan boil dry 😦

Store the puddings, in their original bowl, in the fridge once it’s cooked.

When you want to eat the pudding there are two things you can do. The first, most traditional way to reheat the pudding is to boil it again for 2 hours. I don’t do this I’m afraid to say. I reheat the pudding, on a plate, in the microwave. From memory, I think the large one takes about 5 minutes.

Christmas pudding would usually be served with any, or all of the following:

 * custard/sweet white sauce – home-made, or made with custard powder

* pouring cream

* ice-cream

* “hard” sauce/brandy butter

I hope you enjoy making my Christmas pudding recipe, and I especially hope you enjoy eating it! For friends who may not have tried this recipe before, may I add that Christmas pudding is generally served up in small quantities – it is rich, and guests are usually quite full after the big Christmas main course.

Please don’t hesitate to leave a comment if you think I have omitted something or if something needs clarifying. I am always delighted to help.

16 thoughts on “Christmas Pudding: Day 2

  1. Dear sweetrosie, 😀

    Wow, this looks both challenging and fun to do! May I know how long can the pudding be stored in the refrigerator/chiller before it goes bad, i.e. I am wondering if it can keep until the eve of Christmas if I make this pudding next Saturday? Can I freeze the pudding? I will be boiling this Christmas pudding in my wok. 😆

    Good night from KL,

    choesf 😀

  2. Good morning choesf 🙂

    The puddings can be kept for several months! Up to a year in fact. Many people would think I was actually rather late in making my puddings 😉
    Honestly- I don’t know about freezing. I don’t see why not, but it stores so well in the fridge you may not need to freeze it.
    Please let me know if at any time you get “stuck”. I’ll be right over to help you!

    Happy Monday choesf!

  3. Good morning, sweetrosie 😀

    Oh, this is very good news – in this case, I shall make my pudding as soon as I can this week because I am eager to taste it! 😆 But I shall make them into various bowls like you did, so that I will still have a nice, little one for my Christmas Eve Turkey dinner.

    After reading your recipe a few times, it seems quite straightforward and easy to follow – thanks to your detailed instructions. I’ll “holler” for help if I get stuck somewhere in the recipe! 😆

    Have a wonderful Monday!

    With peace and joy,

    choesf 😀

  4. Hi Sweetrosie 🙂
    I love this approach to Christmas Pudding so much!
    And the pictures make it even easier to follow so thanks so much for that.
    Wish me luck. I hope it turns out as nice as yours!
    Merry Christmas.

  5. Absolutely my pleasure Gemma! I hope you’re as happy with your pudding as I am with mine.

    Good luck!

    Thank you so much for your kind words 🙂
    and have a lovely Christmas

  6. Dear Sweetrosie!

    My name is rose,from Romania and very glad to meet you.Your pudding is awesome,I’ve never cooked something like this…
    At this moment I’m sick,but if I recover, could I do it for the the New Year ?

    love always,rose

  7. Dear rose, it’s such a pleasure to meet you. Thank you for your kind words.
    Of course you could make this pudding for the New Year – it would be the perfect way to celebrate 🙂 The weather in Romania is probably much better suited to the pudding that the Aussie (or KL 😉 ) weather.
    I was sorry to read you are ill. Take care of yourself. I hope that you are feeling better very soon.
    Sending you peace,love & happiness.

  8. Dear sweetrosie! 🙂

    I made my pudding for the New Years Eve dinner.Your recipe was clear and very easy to follow. We didn’t taste it yet but the pudding looks pritty much as yours. I can’t post a picture ( not a comp savy),but maybe our dear friend hoesf will help me out . Thank you so much for this special dessert.It’s a premiere here in romania,I’m sure, that’s why I would like to show it to you.

    Have a very Happy New Year in Love and Light.
    hugs, rose

  9. rose, how lovely to hear from you ! I hope you are feeling better {{hugs}}

    I am so pleased you are happy with the pudding. Let me tell you that mine was the best one I have ever made! Truly! It really was so nice. I know you are going to be happy with all your effort.

    Rose dear, you can’t upload photos here unless you have a blog – then you would put them on your blog. But, ask our dear friend choesf for my email address, and between us we can teach you how to send us photos in an email message 🙂

    Happy New Year dear rose,
    love & happiness always

  10. Hi sweetrosie! 🙂
    I’ve already asked choesf to send you a photo. We all are looking forward to taste “our” pudding with vanilla icecream this time. I’ll let you know the reactions 🙂
    Oh… sorry for my bad English.When tired it is even worse:(

    Happy holidays. Talk to you soon.
    Love always,rose

  11. Hi rose 🙂

    Your English isn’t bad – it’s brilliant!

    I have seen your photo and the pudding looks so beautiful, I am really looking forward to hearing what you thought of it.

    Have a lovely New Years Eve and here’s to a happy, healthy 2008 for all of us!

    love and happiness to you

  12. Hi sweetrosie! 🙂

    I’m proud to tell you that my pudding is simply great. My family was delighted . Since now your pudding turned into a ” must have” for our Christmas ! Thanks again.

    Love always,rose

  13. Hi rose 🙂

    I am so happy for you! I knew it would be lovely and it was so nice to hear that your family enjoyed it.
    I saw Bucharest on the news today – a plane had come off the runway? Anyway, it looked very snowy & cold! Stay warm and eat lots of pudding! 🙂

    love and happiness to you

  14. can you please advise, I have made a Christmas pudding with almost the exact ingredients to you. First, there are no ground almonds in mine and secondly I have already cooked it.

    Will it keep well in the cold larder?
    How long should I cook it on Christmas day?

    Kind regards

    Katie

  15. Hello Katie 🙂 Congratulations on getting your pudding done;it should be beautiful by Christmas.

    The almonds do make for a pudding with a nice taste and texture, and they do add moisture but I wouldn’t be worried you didn’t put them in. I am sure the pudding will still be perfect.

    You were right to cook your pudding after you made it – the “cooking” on Christmas day is really just to reheat it. I would plan on reboiling the pud for a couple of hours, in the tin you stored it in, tightly covered still. Keep the boiling water 1/2 way up the side of the pan OR, and this is so much easier – turn the cold pudding out onto a plate, cover it with a damp clean tea-towel or cloth, cover with cling film and microwave for about 4 minutes (all this will depend on the power of your microwave – mine is quite “weak”) 🙂 This is what I do to save open space and time and the results are PERFECT!

    Until you are ready to reheat the pud it should store well in the larder. I keep mine in the ‘fridge because it is hot in Australia this time of year.

    Good luck Katie – let me know how it goes 🙂

Leave a Reply

