Christmas Pudding : Day 1

As easy as pie, this Christmas pudding is full of chopped nuts, dried fruits, booze (if you want it) AND I really do mean it when I say it’s easy to make.

This is what you need to get started:

  • a big glass, china or stainless steel bowl

pudding.jpg

  • 900g of dried fruit. I used one 375g packet each of raisins and dried mixed fruit, along with some chopped figs, & some chopped prunes to make up the weight. You could add glace fruits like ginger, apricot and pineapple, or chopped dates. More currants if you like them. It’s the end weight of 900g that’s important.

  • the zest of one orange

  • 1 cup (measured afterchopping) of unsalted nuts. I used a mixture of almonds, pecans, walnuts and Brazil nuts. After I had chopped them up I toasted them in a pan on top of the stove for extra flavour. We like the nuts to be quite defined in the pudding. You can chop yours smaller if you prefer. You could also choose to use just almonds, or just walnuts, the choice is entirely yours.

  • 2 under-ripe pears, grated. These add flavour and moistness to the pudding. Apples are a fine substitute, as are carrots.

  • 1/2 a cup each of brandy, dark rum and Newcastle Brown Ale. Of course, this is the part where many will want to make their own substitutions. For example, cold, black tea is a good substitute for the liquor. Any full flavoured beer can be used but I have a soft spot for Newcastle Brown Ale. Being a Geordie, and missing my Dad and sister who still live in the UK, I can raise a toast to them as I splosh some ale into the pud 🙂

brown-ale.jpg

Put everything into your bowl. Mix it all up well and cover with plastic wrap.

pudding-in-a-bowl.jpg

It doesn’t need to go into the fridge.

That’s it. You could leave this mixture to soak for up to a week if you wanted (or if time got away from you…) but I’ll be finishing it off tomorrow, so, see you then !

6 thoughts on “Christmas Pudding : Day 1

  1. Dear sweetrosie, 😀

    Thank you for sharing with us this wonderful recipe. Although my family doesn’t celebrate Christmas, I would cook a Turkey dinner with all the trimmings on Christmas Eve, but I always don’t have a dessert to go with it. This year I will be making your Christmas pudding since you mentioned that it is easy.

    Can I use only brandy to soak the nuts and fruits; or can I also mix part brandy and part black tea (how about Earl Grey) ? 😆

    I’m looking forward to the rest of your recipe….I’m going to dig in my fridge for the ingredients now… 😀

    Have a wonderful weekend!

    With peace and joy,

    choesf 😀

  2. Hi dear choesf
    It is easy, please try it, I’m sure you will be happy you did.
    Earl Grey tea would be a fine substitute for some of the liquid. Orange and apple juice are OK too. The cold tea actually adds colour to the pudding so its “double good” 🙂
    I’ll be posting the rest of the recipe today – I look forward to hearing about your pudding 🙂
    Have a lovely Sunday.

Leave a Reply

