Chicken Stock for Christmas Gravy

 

 chicken-stock.jpg

Yesterday was so hot. The forecast was for 37C ( I think it got hotter than that but I can’t be sure) Anyway, I was up at 6.30am to try and get some housework done and go to the shops before it heated up too much.

Every time I go to Target I go thinking it opens at 8.30am. Of course it’s 9.00am and I’m left hanging about. Target is where some of my Christmas lay-bys are. I am actually quite organised as far as Christmas goes 😉 I’ve done all the Christmas shopping besides the food.

Anyway, I thought I’d have a wander around Foodland, which was open, while I was waiting . I hadn’t planned on buying any groceries, and I am an impulse grocery shopper so it’s best I don’t just wander around supermarkets…

I did really well! I only spent $23.00!

One of my bargains was 2 large chicken carcasses for .99c. I knew exactly what I’d do with them. Beautiful, rich, homemade chicken stock to freeze and bring out for making the Christmas day gravy. I will be cooking a turkey this year. And maybe a piece of lamb or pork as well. Or maybe a baked ham, not sure yet. I am sure that I can’t be bothered trying to fit in making stock for gravy on Christmas Day if I’m lucky enough to get a turkey that  comes with the neck and/or gizzards.

This is my chicken stock recipe

  • 2 large chicken carcases – this is what I had today. You could also use necks

  • 1 unpeeled, washed carrot. Split in 2

  • 1 onion. Washed but unpeeled. Cut in half

  • 1/2 a leek. Split in 2

  • 2 stalks of celery. Cut in half

  • 2 bay-leaves – mine are fresh from my tree in the garden, but dried are fine

  • a 6cm sprig of oregano because I don’t have any thyme growing

  • about 6 whole black peppercorns

I washed the chicken and put everything in my stockpot with 3 litres of filtered water. After it had come to the boil, I reduced the heat to let it simmer, put the lid on and walked away for 3 hours.

It reduced to 2 litres.

I strained the stock through a sieve.

Some of the stock I froze in ice-cube trays. These will be very handy for stir-fries and the like. The rest went into containers in the freezer.

I’ll put some out to defrost in the fridge on Christmas Eve.

The gravy will be made using the stock, packet gravy mix and some milk. I like to make a paler, more of a creamy style gravy with poultry. If I don’t have stock I usually do a half milk, half water gravy with the pan drippings for flavour.

Now I just have to make a Christmas pudding…

 

5 thoughts on “Chicken Stock for Christmas Gravy

  1. Thank you for sharing with us this recipe, sweetrosie! 😀 I have never made my own chicken stock before, and now I shall make a batch of it next week since it can be stored in the freezer. 😉

    Cheers!

    choesf 😀

  2. I can just imagine how wonderful your gravy will taste. I believe the oregano would be an unusual addition for American cooks – very interesting.

  3. Your stock looks and sounds great. I bet the gravy turns out perfect.

    Spreaking of Christmas pudding, I was flipping through channels and Katie Brown was making plum pudding. It looked good and easy so I have tivoed it to try.

  4. It is so easy! – I am posting “day 2” of my Chrissy pud recipe today! It is in the pan cooking away as I type.
    Thanks for visiting, and for your kind words 🙂
    PS: hate to be the ignorant one here, but what does “tivoed” mean jolynna?

Leave a Reply

