Hot Weather Food Shortcuts

Goodness me! Friends, it was 44C here in Adelaide yesterday, but, you still have to eat!
The kitchen is hot, I am hot, so shortcuts are a necessity.

image

I made the salad on the flexible chopping mat.
Made, dressed, and tipped into the bowl.
Lovely crunchy lettuce, cucumber, cute n tasty “choc cherry” tomatoes, red onion and marinated feta cheese.
Drizzled with oil, splashed with balsamic and into the bowl it went.

image

Sourdough garlic loaf.
A very excellent use for end of the day loaves going out on special.
To save a breadboard, I sliced it on the bag it came in and popped it straight onto foil.
No energy left after slicing to mix a garlic butter…

image

Butter went into a pan, scissors chopped some parsley into it, and the Microplane did a superb job of reducing 5 garlic cloves to finely chopped. Too easy.
I used a spoon to drizzle and smother each slice of bread with my lovely mix.
That went into the oven with a store bought lasagna.
Yes, oven was on, but my time in the kitchen was minimum and the tasty meal was much appreciated.
I love reducing time and effort and still putting out an excellent meal!

till next time,
sweetrosie x

About sweetrosie

Hi! Glad you could stop by. I'm Angela, the face behind sweetrosie. I look forward to sharing my varied and often eclectric gastronomic experiences with you through my blog, here at Wordpress, and on Facebook and Twitter.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hot Weather Food Shortcuts

  1. Marjorie Ogg says:

    I will be following your tips for speeding up the preparation. Good ideas.

  2. Lillian says:

    I never thought about using the Microplane for garlic. Of course, it would work perfectly.
    Lillian

Leave a Reply

