Miffy’s 21st Birthday Cake

Miffy's 21st Birthday Cake

Tiny photo I know, Mum used some new-fangled photo sender/editor…

Vanilla bean pound cake with a white chocolate and fresh raspberry buttercream, marbled chocolate collar and hand-made fondant daisys and dark chocolate discs.

Edible image of the birthday girl on a fondant plaque on top.

Same cake in the cupcake with white, milk and dark chocolate frosting. Various hand-made decorations (including the edible images-great product, printed on thin, thin fondant)

 Retro theme cupcake wrappers from a brilliant place I found on ebay.

Yay, Miffy loved it, everyone loved it! A success!

About sweetrosie

Hi! Glad you could stop by. I'm Angela, the face behind sweetrosie. I look forward to sharing my varied and often eclectric gastronomic experiences with you through my blog, here at Wordpress, and on Facebook and Twitter.
This entry was posted in cakes and desserts. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Miffy’s 21st Birthday Cake

  1. Sarah says:

    Hello,
    love the blog! I’m an Aussie living in the UK! I wanted to ask which non dairy spread you could recommend over here for buttercream frosting? I used Pure sunflower and it split when I added the colour….most annoying! Check out our blog http://www.bunted.wordpress.com as well! Good luck with uni.
    Sarah

    • sweetrosie says:

      Hi Sarah in the UK! Many thanks for your kind words. I don’t actually know any of the UK non-dairy spreads but I am wondering about the split mixture – would the addition of more icing sugar rescue it do you think? The only other suggestion I have is to try using a gel or paste colouring from the cake decorating shop; they are much stronger so don’t use much at first, add it slowly. They are also a lot more stable to use compared to the supermarket liquid food colourings.
      Thanks for the uni wishes :) Just a few more weeks and the dissertation is done, done, done!
      I will look at your blog- cheers for that.
      All the best :)

  2. mandy says:

    I love the cake… It looks so delicious. I’m pretty sure it made Miffy’s 21st birthday more wonderful.

  3. Kelly says:

    Looks yummy! Found your blog when I was looking how to cook silverside! It’s cooking along nicely on the stove now.

Leave a Reply

