Roast Chicken for Dinner

Just a simple meal using a beautiful free-range chicken and vegies from the garden. Sometimes the simple things are the best.

I roasted the chicken without covering it because I wanted that dark skin – I know it looks overdone, trust me, it was delicious. The chicken was rubbed with salt, pepper, paprika, dried sage and olive oil and popped into a hot oven for about one and a half hours. I didn’t bother peeling the potatoes that went in with it. They got a wash and I chopped them into wedges.

roast-chicken-dinner

I love my Denby divided baking dish! You can do two different things in it at once, saving time and dishes :) and it’s beautiful enough to bring to the table.

vegetables-denby

Carrots were baked with butter and honey and then sprinkled with Italian parsley.

The tomato and eggplant bake was so easy too and so delicious. I was lucky enough to be able to use eggplant, tomato and basil from the garden.

EGGPLANT AND TOMATO BAKE

  • Heat 2 tablespoons of olive oil in a pan and add 4 finely chopped cloves of garlic, 2 chopped jalapeno chillies (or to taste)¬†and 1 sliced brown onion.
  • Saute until very light golden.
  • Add 4 of the ripest, reddest, more flavoursome tomatoes you can find (or use a tin of good quality roma tomatoes. I just chopped the tomatoes into chunks.
  • Season with salt, freshly ground pepper and a pinch of sugar.
  • Cook over a medium heat for about 10 minutes¬†until the tomato starts to break down and become a bit “saucy”.
  • Grease your baking dish and starting with a spoonful of your sauce layer the dish with slices of eggplant and the sauce – like a lasagna I guess.
  • Cover with foil and bake for about 40 minutes – 1 hour. The cooking time will depend on the quantity you’ve made, the depth of your dish etc, etc. I do take the foil off for the last 15 minutes to drive off some of the liquid and to expose the top to the direct heat of the oven.
  • Sprinkle with finely shredded basil and serve.

This delicious bake meant no gravy or sauce was needed with roast chicken – bonus :)

About sweetrosie

Hi! Glad you could stop by. I'm Angela, the face behind sweetrosie. I look forward to sharing my varied and often eclectric gastronomic experiences with you through my blog, here at Wordpress, and on Facebook and Twitter.
This entry was posted in main courses and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Roast Chicken for Dinner

  1. charmaine says:

    Oh my goodness, EVERYTHING looks sooo good! I love that baking dish, but I just looked it up online and it’s not cheap. I’m going to have to try the tomato and eggplant bake for Emily…maybe the tomatoes (which she loves) will hide the eggplant (which she doesn’t). ;)

Leave a Reply

