Pie? Tart? Flan?

kitchen-shelf

I was thinking about what I wrote about a pie not being a pie unless it had a pastry lid and I got to thinking about all those lovely desserts I call PIE that definately do not have a pastry lid:

lemon meringue pie

mince pie

pumpkin pie

meat and potato pie – obviously not a dessert but an old English favourite

and all those American pies I have only read about and dream about eating one day – coconut cream pie, shoofly pie, chocolate cream pie

I humbly stand corrected :)

About sweetrosie

Hi! Glad you could stop by. I'm Angela, the face behind sweetrosie. I look forward to sharing my varied and often eclectric gastronomic experiences with you through my blog, here at Wordpress, and on Facebook and Twitter.
This entry was posted in cakes and desserts. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pie? Tart? Flan?

  1. tiffany007 says:

    As I was wakening again from a poorly sleep an overwhelming urge came over me for something really sweet, as I rooted around the store cupboard I came across the recipe for Banoffee pie, another topless pie. Can you believe the connection thing going on. unbelievable, i shall make it… one day

  2. sweetrosie says:

    Well I never! Did you see the recipe I posted? It really was easy – go on, make one for yourself darling!
    I have an ear infection, no wonder I’m feeling so ill, still a bit poorly… what about you? On the mend?
    I am sending you a huge virtual wedge of banana caramel tart through cyberspace xxxxx

  3. katong gal says:

    A pie by any other name would taste as good?

    Actually that is a good one – I’ve never thought about the difference between a pie and a tart. Is it a question of size, then, tarts are supposed to be smaller?

  4. sweetrosie says:

    Hiya katong gal :) I really don’t know and I’ve thinking and reading about this one since I wrote the post.
    I am beginning to think that the differences do lie within US culinary terms and English terms. I have never heard a pastry dish without a lid referred to as a “pie” except in an American recipe. I’ve been wracking my brains to try and come up with an English example and can’t – I can think of treacle TART, jam TART, Bakewell TART, etc, etc but no pies :) all help and comments welcome! :)

Leave a Reply

