Comfort Food From the Slow Cooker

crock-pot-chickenAll credit for this recipe goes to dear Happy Home Maker. As soon as I read about her special comfort food chicken I knew I was going to be making it real soon. Even if I have to make it myself – comfort food is just what I need right now :)

I love my visits to HHM’s blog. It’s like vsiting a dear friend for a friendly chat and a calm bit of respite from the world. Her advice is always timely and her insight and love is shared with all who drop by…thank you dear choesf, you’re a superstar!!

I decided to make this recipe is my garage sale bargain of the year – my “new” slow cooker /crock-pot. A steal at $10.00! I love it, I’ve used it a couple of times now and the results have been great. One thing I have found makes a difference to meat braises and the like: take the time to brown the onions and meat on top of the stove first. It makes all the difference to the taste and flavour of the finished dish. Oh, and another thing; a lot of liquid can be generated by the slow cooking process, you should be prepared to thicken up the sauce/gravy in the last half hour of cooking. I have just used mixed up gravy powder and water for the meat braises. I’ll use cornflour and water for this chicken one.

I kept it simple today:

  • 8 skin-off, bone-in chicken thighs
  • 2 large potatoes cut into wedges
  • 4 medium-large onions – I used red and brown onions
  • 4 whole cinnamon sticks
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground white pepper
  • salt to taste
  • 2 tablespoons of oyster sauce
  • 1 tablespoon kecap manis or thick, sweet soy sauce
  • 2 tablespoons regular soy sauce

I marinated the meat with the oyster sauce and soy in the container the chicken came in. I just rinsed it out and it was perfect. One piece less to wash up :) I also took the skin off these thighs. They were very fatty and it wasn’t good quality chicken or anything, just bog-standard supermarket bird.

choesf-chicken-marinade

I tipped the whole lot into a pan and swazzled it round for about 5 minutes to brown up a bit. You’ll see that choesf just does this with the chicken,not with the onion and potato. I’m a lazy girl…

choesf-chicken

 

It went into the slow cooker and I popped in about 2 mugs-full of water. I am going to have to thicken it up, I can see that, but that’s fine, no drama. I’m going to serve it with steamed rice, steamed beans from the garden and a nice fiery homemade chilli sauce. Just pounded chilli, garlic, ginger, sugar, salt, lime and maybe a little blob of toasted belacan. All smashed together in the mortar and pestle and offered in small dishes on the side.

I can’t wait. Now I’ve made myself comfort food I’m going to have to figure out how I can give myself a back massage LOL :)

6 thoughts on “Comfort Food From the Slow Cooker

  1. Thank you for your lovely comments, my dear sweetrosie! :oops: :oops: :lol: I am honoured that you are regarding this dish as your comfort food, too. Did you find a way of giving yourself a back massage? Do tell me if you as I sorely need one, too! :D

    My hubby is having a nap now….reading your post here is making me drool over this dish…I’m going to dig in my freezer now for some chicken and cook this stew to surprise him (or wake him up :roll:)! :D

    Do have a relaxing weekend, dear. :D

    Big Hugs,

    choesf :D

  2. no dear choesf – I have yet to discover the self-back massage secret LOL I live in hope :)

    The chicken was perfect and delcious – true comfort food. I love the simplicity of this one, thank you once again my friend.

    ovenhaven! thank you for your kind words dear. I loved the chilli sauce with this one, it was the perfect contrast to the steamed rice and comfy chicken & potato. The pounding of the sauce was very calming too, I love using my mortar and pestle – it is a different result from using the blender; don’t let anyone tell you otherwise ;)xx

  3. Great blog babe kl – I know what you mean about liquid and slow cookers – I have had some awful, bland meals made in them.

    As you rightly pointed out one of the secrets of a delicious slow cooker meal is a little bit of prep – take the time to brown the onions etc.

    I did want the liquid with this one, we were having a ightly thickened “soupy” meal but again your advice is spot on :)

    I hope you are having a nice, restful week

Leave a Reply

