Perfect Corned Silverside

We don’t have corned silverside all that often. I got the idea to do a piece after a friend at work mentioned she was cooking one for salads and sandwiches during our recent hot spell.

I must confess to having a soft spot for hot corned beef with mashed potato, parsley sauce and cabbage. So comforting.

It does also have an added bonus – it slices beautifully when it’s cold, and is perfect in sandwiches and rolls like these:

corned-beef-rolls.jpg

Dinner that night was the silverside with beetroot and horseradish or tuna and salad. Both in lovely, wholesome seeded rolls. It was perfect. The beef was fall-apart tender, and the horseradish proved the perfect condiment.

Here is how I cook a piece of corned beef so that it is tender and delicious every time.

CORNED SILVERSIDE

  • 1.5kg – 2kg piece of corned silverside. Wash well under cold water
  • 1 large onion. Cut in half- no need to remove the skin
  • I used a heel of celery that I sliced in half. A couple of sticks will do the trick. The leaves can remain attached
  • 1 large carrot sliced in half
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 1/2 a cup of brown sugar
  • 1/2 a cup of vinegar. Your choice. I have used malt, white, wine, and balsamic in the past. All work well
  • a couple of whole peppercorns
  • a couple of whole cloves

Put everything into a large pan. Cover with cold water and bring to the boil.

Turn the heat down to a very gentle simmer and cook for 3 hours.

corned-beef-pan.jpg

Yep, 3 hours. This will guarantee a tender piece of beef. Some people use their slow-cookers to achieve the same long, slow cook time.

Drain the beef. If you are having it hot leave it to rest before carving. About 15-20 minutes should do it.

corned-beef-cooked.jpg

Traditional accompaniments usually include a white sauce flavoured with parsley, English mustard, or onion, mashed potato, and simply prepared vegetables like steamed cabbage, pumpkin, peas and carrots.

Some people have to eat their corned beef dinner with tomato sauce, some insist on hot English mustard on the side.

As I mentioned above, horseradish sauce tasted wonderful with the beef and will now be a permanent accompaniment. This one is made in the Barossa Valley.

corned-beef-horseradish.jpg

Really, there’s nothing like a good corned beef dinner in the winter – it’s wonderful.

In the summer it’s star of the show in the salad and sandwich department.

About sweetrosie

Hi! Glad you could stop by. I'm Angela, the face behind sweetrosie. I look forward to sharing my varied and often eclectric gastronomic experiences with you through my blog, here at Wordpress, and on Facebook and Twitter.
This entry was posted in main courses and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Perfect Corned Silverside

  1. happygrub says:

    Is that your garden? It looks so green and beautiful! And corned beef is something I’m not sure of cooking. The only corned beef I know comes from a can, its not the same is it?

  2. sweetrosie says:

    hi there happygrub! Yep, it’s the same corned beef that comes in a can as the one you cook yourself ( compressed though of course) Fresh cooked kind of tastes the same, not as crumbly though :)

    Thank you for saying nice things about my garden! I love my garden and it’s been so dry and hot here – so much has suffered. My “special” plants, the cycads and palms are mostly in pots on the porch so they’re ok :)

    • pauline says:

      i am pretty sure corned beef in the can is offal, not this wonderful dish that i have just put on to try..read your label next time..its beef hearts and the like as we no longer eat it because of this!!

      • sweetrosie says:

        Reading your comment again and I couldn’t help but think of the horsemeat scandal swirling around the UK and Europe…you’re right to be cautious, processed foods can be an unknown. I hope the recipe has been working for you :)

  3. ninazer0 says:

    Corned beef is so underrated. My husband had never had it before he met me (bizarre, I know!)but he’s taken to it in a big way. I love it hot out of the pot with plenty of parsley sauce and baby veges. Gosh – I’ve just realised that we haven’t had this for a while and that I’m drooling. Guess I know what’s going to be for dinner shortly, eh? :) Hope some rain comes your way – it’s painful to watch your garden crisp up and die. Cheers!

  4. sweetrosie says:

    Big & little boys LOVE corned beef :) There’s nothing like comfort food when you need it. It seems to be a dying “art” too doesn’t it? I’m a big supporter of nursery food and comfort food like mummy (the real one or the imaginary one) used to make when people need some lovin’ :)

    You know what? They are saying showers for this afternoon. I don’t believe them. They said that for Thursday and we got about 3 spits and that was it *big sigh*

    Enjoy your Monday :)

  5. Cathie says:

    Sweetrosie, My husband LOVES corned beef. I’m a mean wife and never ever cook it for him, but one of his friends cooks it once a year and invites him over to eat it!!

    As for the Graham crackers, they are these really wierd, dark brown things between a buiscuit and a cracker. Nothing like Sao or Jatz.
    Here’s some info

    http://homecooking.about.com/cs/specificfood/a/graham.htm

    They do make an excellent base for cheesecake, and you can buy them in a box already made into crumbs. You have to love America!!

  6. sweetrosie says:

    ninazero – reporting rain ma’am :) Please keep sending the voodoo rain vibes my way:)

    Cathie – you are indeed a wicked wife :) Do they serve the corned beef up differently in the US? I know about Reuben sandwiches, what else do you do with it? Is it still white sauce and most for most people?
    Thnx for the Graham cracker info – very much appreciated. On a different subject… I have been reading books that touch on the subject of HFCS lately. I know you have fairly strong feelings on this. Where did you first learning about it?

  7. sweetrosie says:

    cathie – most = mash :)

  8. sweetrosie says:

    OMG, I feel like such an idiot, so many errors. And I feel compelled to correct them all…
    Cathie – “where did you first learning about it” makes no sense at all – I know you know what I meant to ask :)

  9. jill says:

    Cooked my very first Corned Silverside with your recipe last night which fed 7 happy people who raved about how delicious it was. Thank you! : ) five stars ;)

  10. Karen Elizabeth says:

    IB have always loved silverside ever since my nanna used to make it. I want to cook it for a ….dinner party!
    Yes!
    with baby roast vegis..
    any ideas of how to “sex” it up ?

    • sweetrosie says:

      I’m too long in replying!!! My apologies! I love to make a white sauce with a spot of horseradish or mustard and some very finely chopped parsley to go with it. Don’t try and “sex it up” too much – it is classic nursery/comfort food after all, it wouldn’t seem right LOL
      Having said that, why not try some lovely garlic mash with it, some steamed asparagus with butter or maybe some savoy cabbage briefly sauteed with butter and dijon mustard :)
      Have fun !

    • Faye says:

      try adding 2 teaspoons of HOT PAPRIKA when you add the other spices :) it adds that extra bit of warmth in your belly and delish aswell :)

  11. Gary says:

    Best sliver side ever

  12. gazzaruna says:

    hi sweet rosie. something ive never understood about corned beef is whether the onions,carrots etc in recipes are mainly for flavour for the meat or to accompany it. can u or someone enlighten me? i personally would prefer my veg steamed in fresh water.

  13. mick says:

    Awesome dish full of flavour ;-)

  14. Bert Smits says:

    In Holland we cannot buy Silverside.
    As far as I know, the butcher prepares the meat in salted water.
    Can anyone tel me how to prepare the meat before I can cook it.
    Thanks a lot.
    Bert Smits
    email: bert.smits@home.nl

  15. joan charles says:

    hullo sweetrosie, you really know how to cook a perfect silverside corned beef..i am an australian living in virginia usa..the problem i have buying corned beef here , is the fact the meat is almost flat, not a nice square one that is so easy to carve..do you live in the barossa valley? hope you have had some rain, i am from brisbane, and iam homesick for aistralia best wishes to you sweetrosie… cheers joan charles

    • sweetrosie says:

      Hi Joan – it was lovlely to get a message from an Aussie living in the US! I’m not in the Barossa but close to the city in Adelaide. My hubby’s folks live on the Gold Coast so I know that part of Qld :)
      Thank you very much for your kind comments about my silverside, it is a favourite over here isn’t it? I had a thought for you – try buying a piece from a kosher butcher, silverside is a traditional Jewish culinary favourite, maybe you’ll have more luck!
      Love to hear how you get on and please, feel free to share the different foods you are enjoying in your new home. All the best Joan, Angela/sweetrosie

      • joan charles says:

        hullo sweet rosie, lovely to receive your reply, iwas wondering if you can share an aussie meat pie with a flaky two crust or whatever you would recommend for the bottom crust, and i cannot buy gravox to thicken and for gravy in the pie, any sugestions dear lady? i feel so fortunate to have found you on the internet, and i really admire your excellant university traini ng, and i am going to try and become a better cook and also try all your wonderful tecipies , i wish you the best of good wishes , and may you get some decent rain.. and i will hunt some receipes up for you on virginia food stuffs………………..oh gosh your corned beef is driving me to desperation, there is no jewish butcher around here, but i will be on the hunt…..bye for now love…. joan charles xx

      • sweetrosie says:

        Hi Joan! Hope this finds you well and cooking up a storm! I guess it’s cold in your part of the world and you’ll be looking for good, hearty food to beat the chills. I csnnot remember if I answered your pie query???? If not, my most sincere apologies, sometimes my life gets so, so hectic, poor sweetrosie gets neglected. You know Joan, I think the Aussie style meat pies are best made with a shortcrust pastry base and a puff pastry lid, seems to create the perfect pie. As for thickening your gravy – after you have browned your meat and onions, add a tablespoon of flour to the pan and swazzle it about with the meat and the pan drippings until it is brown and toasty. Then slowly add your water/stock, stirring all the time, until you get a nice thickish sauce. Hope this helps. Take care and have a great weekend x

  16. Russell says:

    Thanks for the recipe, cooked up a treat. I had it cooled and I made a sauce from Honey, Wholemeal mustard, Capers and Mayonnaise and served with a salad. Fabulous.

    • sweetrosie says:

      Thank you for the kind words and your sauce sounds delicious. I love the idea of this with a beautiful, homemade sauce and salad – it’s been so hot here in Adelaide, you’ve come up with the perfect combo :)

  17. Faye says:

    Hi rosie even tho im only 32yrs old – since i was a little girl helping my nanna make this same recipe in her kitchen and then having my own 15yr old daughters help me cook it for our family every week it is sad that some people dont pass down some of their traditional traits, i love the simplicity of this mean and so versatile my partner never had it before he met me either and now he’s hooked (lol) i dont tell him how i make it for him though, and i found if you want to add a little bit of ‘heat’ (spice) to the meat just add 2 teaspoons of hot paprika :) have fun cooking every1 :)

    • sweetrosie says:

      I loved your idea of adding the chilli, I think it’s inspired :) I also love that you cook what your nana cooks, and with your daughter too. I think that is just brilliant. Now, she’ll grow up and pass it on too. I’m with you, traditional food is a very beautiful thing. Take care and have fun in the kitchen :)

  18. Cameron says:

    Hi, thanks for the recipe, it turned out great. While my wife has been in hospital your site has been s godsend!

    Regards Cameron

    • sweetrosie says:

      Hi Cameron. I’m sorry your wife has been in the hospital, I hope everything turns out well and she’s home again soon. Good to hear you’ve been cooking for yourself ;) It’s a pleasure to be able to help you do that.

  19. I’m just making my 4th silverside by your method, and I gotta say it rocks! My hubby has a little bit of it every day in his salad, and a 1.5kg silverside once cooked will last him 1 month! I just carve it up, then bag it up and freeze it. The last 3 were made with balsamic, this one is with apple cider vinegar, and I make all of mine in the slow cooker.

Leave a Reply

